Month: April 2016

Review: Way Down Dark by JP Symthe

Posted April 23, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Way Down Dark  by JP Symthe

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Way Down Dark by J.P. Smythe, James Smythe Series: The Australia Trilogy #1 Published by Hodder & Stoughton on July 2, 2015 Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 288 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The first in an extraordinary new YA trilogy by James Smythe, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. There’s one truth on Australia: You fight or you die. Usually both. Seventeen-year-old Chan’s ancestors left a dying Earth hundreds of years ago, in search of a new home. They never found one. The only life that Chan’s ever known is one of violence, of fighting. Of trying to survive. But there might be a way to escape. In order to find it, Chan must head way down into the darkness – a place of buried secrets, long-forgotten lies, and the abandoned bodies of the dead. Seventeen-year-old Chan, fiercely independent and self-sufficient, […]

Review: Breaking Dead by Corrie Jackson

Posted April 22, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Breaking Dead by Corrie Jackson

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Breaking Dead by Corrie Jackson Published by twenty7 Books on September 8, 2016 Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller Pages: 360 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads For fans of Kimberley Chambers and The Cuckoo’s Calling, this compelling crime novel uncovers the dark side of high fashion. Sophie Kent is hanging on by a thread. Her tenacity and talent have seen her rise through the ranks of a tough newspaper industry. But her brother’s suicide has thrown her career and personal life into chaos. Whilst out on the job interviewing witnesses of a brutal child murder, Sophie befriends a beautiful but traumatised Russian model. When the girl’s mutilated body turns up in an upmarket hotel on the eve of London Fashion Week, Sophie knows she could have saved her. Eaten away by guilt, she throws herself headfirst into the edgy, fast-paced world of fashion with one goal in mind: to catch the […]

Review: Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

Posted April 20, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard Series: Red Queen #0.1, Red Queen #0.2 Published by HarperTeen on January 5, 2016 Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Novella, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 208 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads Two women on either side of the Silver and Red divide tell the stories no one else knows. Discover the truth of Norta’s bloody past in these two revealing prequels to #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestseller RED QUEEN. Queen Song Queen Coriane, first wife of King Tiberias, keeps a secret diary—how else can she ensure that no one at the palace will use her thoughts against her? Coriane recounts her heady courtship with the crown prince, the birth of a new prince, Cal, and the potentially deadly challenges that lie ahead for her in royal life. Steel Scars Captain Farley was raised to be strong, but being tasked with planting the seeds of […]

Review: The Secret Lore of London edited by John Matthews with Caroline Wise

Posted April 19, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: The Secret Lore of London edited by John Matthews with Caroline Wise

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Secret Lore of London by John Matthews Published by Coronet on May 17, 2016 Genres: Anthropology, Folklore, Historical, Mythology, Non-Fiction, Novella, Short Stories Pages: 360 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads London is an ancient city, whose foundation dates back literally thousands of years into the legendary prehistory of these islands. Not surprisingly it has accumulated a large number of stories, both historic and mythical, during this period, many of which, though faithfully recorded at the time, have lain almost forgotten in dusty libraries throughout the city. The Secret Lore of London is a guide to the legends, including a discussion of their importance as part of the oral tradition of Britain, combining Prehistoric, Celtic, Arthurian, Roman, Saxon and Norman levels – each of which has contributed to the many-layered life of the city. The first part contains a unique selection of essays (some printed here for the first […]

Movie Musical Challenge – The Gay Divorcee

Posted April 12, 2016 by Charlotte in Movie Musical Challenge! / 3 Comments
Movie Musical Challenge – The Gay Divorcee

For this Movie Musical Challenge I’ve made a list of 15 musicals that I haven’t yet seen and probably ought to have. The challenge is throughout the year and once watched I’ll put my thoughts up on the blog. Today is the turn of The Gay Divorcee. So the fifth movie for the challenge is The Gay Divorcee (1934), starring Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers. I think this is the only black and white musical I have on my list. And it makes a nice change to see something different. And despite what may be considered a classic and old is not at all dated. I adored this film, it reminded me of my favourite Astaire and Rogers film – Top Hat – the story is similar but the roles are swapped around, which Astaire misunderstanding Rogers. And they have the perfect dance partnership, each keeping up with the other and balancing each other out. My favourite song was Cole Porter’s ‘Night and Day’ and while the other songs are good this is the stand-out for me. I wish that the film had kept some more […]