Review: Dominion by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard

Posted March 2, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

Dominion by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Dominion by John Connolly and Jennifer RidyardDominion by John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Series: The Chronicles of the Invaders #3
Published by Headline on February 25, 2016
Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 464
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

DOMINION is the epic follow-up to CONQUEST and EMPIRE in the Chronicles of the Invaders series by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard. Fans of Pittacus Lore and Veronica Roth will be entranced.
They have cheated death.
Defied their people.
Changed beyond recognition.
Their love has survived the impossible.
But now they must learn to trust again: the future of their worlds depends on it.

Thank goodness that Dominion has finally come around. I’ve been eagerly waiting to see how everything will be resolved and how everyone doesn’t die. Because lets be honest, that is what matters, also I spent the majority of my time reading this, absolutely convinced that the situation could only end badly. Terrible of me I know, but this is how I honestly felt.

I did like that we started with an prologue about what had happened in the previous two books, because I had been a bit lazy and not read them. It gave a nice reminder of what had happened and sets up the scene. It’s also a little tease, hyping up the excitement of this fab book.

I did think that the ending ended up being rushed. Especially after the slower and more detailed pace of not only the previous novels, but also the impervious chapters here, the final chapters felt rushed and cramped – almost like we could do with another book (hint hint!).

And despite the unreality of it all, the writing and the characterisation made the story feel very real. It was easy to imagine and believe the decisions everyone made was the correct one. I again liked the different perspectives, and again how diverse and spread out everyone and everything is.

Dominion is a great ending to the series, one that I absolutely loved and I cannot wait to go back to the beginning and binge read the entire story.  If you haven’t started reading this series, then get cracking because you are missing out.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 370 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.