Review: Empire by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard

Posted January 2, 2015 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

Empire by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Empire by John Connolly and Jennifer RidyardEmpire by John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Series: The Chronicles of the Invaders #2
Published by Headline on January 1, 2015
Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 441
Format: E-Arc
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

AN EPIC TALE OF INTRIGUE, VIOLENCE AND LOVE, SET IN A TIME WHEN AN ELITE ALIEN RACE RULE SUPREME. FOR FANS OF RICK YANCEY AND PITTACUS LORE.The second in the epic Chronicles of the Invaders trilogy by bestselling author John Connolly, and Jennifer Ridyard. For fans of THE 5TH WAVE and I AM NUMBER FOUR.
Syl Hellias: an Illyri, the first of her kind to be born on Earth. Paul Kerr: a human, dedicated to his people's resistance of the alien invasion. Brought together by chance they formed the strongest of bonds. Now they are to be punished for that love.
Exiled to the outermost reaches of the universe, Syl and Paul must each make journeys that will lead them to the horrifying truths harbored at the heart of the Illyri Empire. And to a force with the power shake the the universe to its very core.

So Conquest had left us with a surprising ending. I wasn’t expecting to it to end up that way and now we start Empire with the consequences of that event.

We also get to experience the vastness of the empire and the importance of the wormholes. This is different to Conquest where all the action was set on Earth. In Empire it is spread out through various universes and on different planets. There is also new characters to love and even more to hate.

Empire starts with a brief history of the Sisterhood and we learn more about the other planets and the civil war that affected the Illyri. I loved how this gave the background to the story and explained why the Sisterhood is the way it is.

Ani and Sly find their friendship tested and their loyalty changes. Can they trust one another? Is the sisterhood all bad? And where can the secrets of the Sisterhood be found? Will Sly and Paul be reunited? And will they find out the history of those mysterious aliens from Conquest?

Empire is a brilliant book, perhaps even better than the first one. Everything here is expanded and all the good bits for Conquest  are intensified. It will be interesting to see how Connolly and Ridyard resolve all the issues and plot lines in the next one. There is so much going on in this book. You think you have your questions answered only to find more questions.

If you loved the first one then you will definitely enjoy this one!

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.