Review: Frostblood by Elly Blake

Posted January 11, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 1 Comment

Frostblood by Elly Blake

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Frostblood by Elly BlakeFrostblood by Elly Blake
Series: Frostblood #1
Published by Hodder & Stoughton on January 12th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy
Pages: 304
Format: Arc
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The first in a page-turning young adult fantasy series perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series.
In a land governed by the cruel Frostblood ruling class, seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has spent most of her life hiding her ability to manipulate heat and light - until the day the soldiers come to raid her village and kill her mother. Ruby vows revenge on the tyrannous Frost King responsible for the massacre of her people.
But Ruby's powers are unpredictable...and so are the feelings she has for Arcus, the scarred, mysterious Frostblood warrior who shares her goal to kill the Frost King, albeit for his own reasons. When Ruby is captured by the Frost King's men, she's taken right into the heart of the enemy. Now she only has one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who took everything from her - and in doing so, she must unleash the powers she's spent her whole life withholding.
Frostblood is set in world where flame and ice are mortal enemies - but together create a power that could change everything.

Frostblood was a brilliantly addictive, compelling read. It actually made me feel anti-social as all I wanted to do is curl up and read this book. I cannot wait to see what happens next in this series, because for a first book this was a little fire cracker!

I fell in love with Ruby instantly – her passion, her belief in being herself, and her the fact she was definitely human made her a champion in my eyes. And Arcus is a delight, despite his scars and the fact he is a frostblood, you instantly warm towards him. He does his best in difficult situations but he keeps himself hidden at all time, it is only towards the end that we start to see a little more of the true Arcus.

The romance between the two is pretty much non-existent even if it is obviously there. Which I liked. Because it gave us a chance to understand the story, get the background and focus on more important stuff, than who is kissing who and why and what does it mean.

I adored this book. I certainly didn’t want it to end. And now I have to wait impatiently for the next book of what is sure to be an exciting sequel.

If you are after a new book to read this year then look no further. Frostblood is pretty perfect and I promise that you will enjoy it!

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 906 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Review: Frostblood by Elly Blake

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.