Review: Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly

Posted April 12, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie TromlyTrouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly
Series: Trouble #2
Published by Hot Key Books on December 1st 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A whip-smart, screwball noir mystery—with snappy prose, wry humor, and breakneck dialogue—this sequel to Trouble Is a Friend of Mine is perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Sherlock, John Hughes, and Carl Hiassen.
After a fall semester of fiascos: getting arrested, then kidnapped, then blown up in an explosion (all thanks to the weird but brilliant Philip Digby), Zoe Webster is looking forward to a quiet spring. Now that Digby has left town, she's finally built a regular high school life for herself. She's dating Miles, the alternate QB; she knows girls she considers friends; she's learning to enjoy being normal and semi-popular. Which of course is when Digby comes back: He's got a new lead on his missing sister and he needs Zoe's help.
Suddenly Zoe is tussling with a billionaire arch-villain, locking horns with armed goons, and digging into what makes the Digby family tick, even as she tries to navigate the confusing and emotionally fraught world of high school politics and locker-room drama. After all, it's hard to explain Digby to a boy like Miles, especially when Zoe isn't sure how she feels about Digby herself—or how he feels about her.
Now that Digby's back, get ready for another hilarious whodunit filled with razor-sharp dialogue, ridiculously funny action, and the most charismatic, dynamic duo you've ever met. And just try to stay out of trouble.
We dare you.

So if you are a bit worried about reading Trouble Makes a Comeback because it is the second book in the series, DO NOT PANIC! At the beginning there is a handy two page summery to refresh your memory and to get you in the reading mood.

And it saved me reading the first one. When I first requested this book I didn’t realise that it was a middle book. But I still felt that it was easy to get to know everyone and their history.

There is, however, a love triangle in this book. Which unsurprisingly gets on my nerves. Just make up your mind and stop faffing around. It would make everything so much easier. And would make the story more easy to read and enjoy. Without any hassle.

For all the bright cover of this book, this was a lot darker than I expected. I ‘m not entirely sure what I was after but I did think that it would be more a detective, after-school club type fun, with some pranks thrown in. You know they find a mystery, go off to solve it and find themselves in more trouble than should actually be possible? Yeah that was case.

The banter, the witty comebacks of Digby’s were perfect. They made me smile and lighten the mood of the book. It made the intensity of the mystery easier to bare. I also like how Sloane and Zoe became closer as the book went on and set their differences aside.

Trouble Makes a Comeback was fun, surprising dark book, that kept throwing unexpected things at me. I did not know what to expect when I started reading this book. And I ended up with a completely different read. Dark, funny and outrageous this is one book you will want to read.

 

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.