Genre: Science Fiction

Blog Tour / Guest Post: “Writing Gwendolynn McBride (Or: A man writing a woman’s perspective” by Tyrell Johnson, author of Wolves of Winter

Posted January 6, 2018 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Guest Post / 2 Comments
Blog Tour / Guest Post: “Writing Gwendolynn McBride (Or: A man writing a woman’s perspective” by Tyrell Johnson, author of Wolves of Winter

The Wolves of Winter by Tyrell Johnson Published by HQ Fiction on January 11th 2018 Genres: Dystopia, Fiction, Mystery, Science Fiction Pages: 384 Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads A captivating tale of humanity pushed beyond its breaking point, of family and bonds of love forged when everything is lost, and of a heroic young woman who crosses a frozen landscape to find her destiny. This debut novel is written in a post-apocalyptic tradition that spans The Hunger Games and Station Eleven but blazes its own distinctive path. Forget the old days. Forget summer. Forget warmth. Forget anything that doesn’t help you survive in the endless white wilderness beyond the edges of a fallen world. Lynn McBride has learned much since society collapsed in the face of nuclear war and the relentless spread of disease. As the memories of her old life continue to haunt, she’s been forced to forge ahead in the snow-drifted Canadian Yukon, learning how to hunt and trap and slaughter. But her fragile existence is about to be shattered. Shadows of the world before have found […]

Review: Dark Made Dawn by JP Symthe

Posted January 4, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Dark Made Dawn by JP Symthe

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Dark Made Dawn by J.P. Smythe Series: The Australia Trilogy #3 Published by Hodder Paperbacks on April 6, 2017 Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 400 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads IT BEGAN WITH WAY DOWN DARK, SHORTLISTED FOR THE ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD.IT CONTINUED WITH LONG DARK DUSK.IT CONCLUDES… NOW. There was one truth on Australia, the prison ship on which Chan was born and raised: you fight or you die. Usually both.But everything on Australia was a lie. Abandoned and alone, Chan was forced to live a terrible existence on the fringes of society, Australia’s only survivor after a terrible crash-landing on Earth.But Chan discovered she was not alone. Together with the unlikeliest of allies, Chan carved out a place for herself on Earth. And now the time has come: she’s finally found a reason to keep going. But friends have become enemies, and […]

Review: Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews

Posted May 27, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews Series: Timebomb Trilogy #2 Published by Hodder & Stoughton on May 19, 2016 Genres: Fiction, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 368 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The adventure continues: time is in flux, and only Jana, Dora and Kaz can fix it. But can they trust each other?It began when three people from three different moments in history discovered that they could travel through time when they clasped hands. But the mysteries surrounding them have only deepened. There are risks to tampering with established events… timelines become snarled, histories become tangled… and one false move could destroy time itself! Jana, Kaz and Dora have escaped from their mysterious enemy, Quil, wounded and scared. Taking refuge in a place outside of time, they devise a plan to change the past, altering Quil’s life so that she never meets them.From the streets of Beirut in […]

Review: TimeBomb by Scott K. Andrews

Posted May 16, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: TimeBomb by Scott K. Andrews

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.TimeBomb by Scott K. Andrews Series: Timebomb Trilogy #1 Published by Hodder & Stoughton on October 9, 2014 Genres: Fiction, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 336 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads New York City, 2141: Yojana Patel throws herself off a skyscraper, but never hits the ground. Cornwall, 1640: gentle young Dora Predennick, newly come to Sweetclover Hall to work, discovers a badly-burnt woman at the bottom of a flight of stairs. When she reaches out to comfort the dying woman, she’s knocked unconscious, only to wake, centuries later, in empty laboratory room. On a rainy night in present-day Cornwall, seventeen-year-old Kaz Cecka sneaks into the long-abandoned Sweetclover Hall, determined to secure a dry place to sleep. Instead he finds a frightened housemaid who believes Charles I is king and an angry girl who claims to come from the future. Thrust into the centre of an adventure that spans […]

Review: Way Down Dark by JP Symthe

Posted April 23, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Way Down Dark  by JP Symthe

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Way Down Dark by J.P. Smythe, James Smythe Series: The Australia Trilogy #1 Published by Hodder & Stoughton on July 2, 2015 Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 288 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The first in an extraordinary new YA trilogy by James Smythe, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. There’s one truth on Australia: You fight or you die. Usually both. Seventeen-year-old Chan’s ancestors left a dying Earth hundreds of years ago, in search of a new home. They never found one. The only life that Chan’s ever known is one of violence, of fighting. Of trying to survive. But there might be a way to escape. In order to find it, Chan must head way down into the darkness – a place of buried secrets, long-forgotten lies, and the abandoned bodies of the dead. Seventeen-year-old Chan, fiercely independent and self-sufficient, […]