Month: July 2015

Review: The Piano Man Project by Kat French

Posted July 30, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: The Piano Man Project by Kat French

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. The Piano Man Project by Kat French Series: Standalone Published by: Harper Collins UK, Avon on 30th July 2015 Genres: Chick-lit; Contemporary; Fiction; Romance Pages: 400 Format: E-arc Source: Netgalley Rating: **** About: Finding love isn’t always black and white… You: kind, piano-playing sex god Me: hopelessly romantic charity shop manager Honeysuckle Jones has a problem, and her best friends Nell and Tash are on a mission to help her solve it. She needs a man – a caring, intelligent, funny man. But most importantly, a man who’s good with his hands… Luckily Honey’s new neighbour – moody, antisocial ex-chef Hal – fails on almost every count. Even though the chemistry between them is electric, he’s obviously wrong for her in every way. But when Honey discovers the devastating reason for his moods she decides to give him another chance. And discovers that the best songs aren’t always in tune… A hilarious, feel-good, sexy romantic comedy for fans of Lucy Diamond, Paige Toon and Giovanna Fletcher. Review: Even though this is in the ‘Chick-lit’ category I loved that a lot of the story was spent focusing on […]

Guest Post: Q&A with Lisa Ballantyne, author of Redemption Road

Guest Post: Q&A with Lisa Ballantyne, author of Redemption Road

Today I am delighted to be part of the Blog Tour for Redemption Road by Lisa Ballantyne. Redemption Road was a compelling read (see my review) and I highly recommend it. Below Lisa has very kindly answered a Q&A and I hope you enjoy the answers. Don’t forget to visit other blog stops along the tour for other great content. Enjoy guys 😉 Can you in five words describe your book to those who haven’t read it? A father and daughter fable. What is your writing process? I always start with character – just imagine my main characters and who they are. I believe that characters give heart and soul to books (and films for that matter) and truly understanding a person or character helps me to understand what motivates them to act… and that is the basis of plot. Was there anything in this book that took you by surprise? The scene where the teenage George and his loan shark father visit a debtor on a building site was an interesting one to write. It was one of the rare occasions when a character takes over and I as the writer watched the scene I was writing unfold. I knew George […]

Review: The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Posted July 24, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 5 Comments
Review: The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.   The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle Series: Standalone Published by: Corgi Children’s on 2nd July 2015 Genres: Contemporary; Fantasy; Fiction; Young Adult; Mystery; Romance Pages: 288 Format: E-arc Source: Netgalley Rating: **** About: It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom. The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear. But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free? Review: This is a strange compelling read as for me the story never seemed as simple as what the blurb suggests. I did like that there was a hint of fantasy wrapped around the story which gave it a bit of an edge. One thing I didn’t like was that it is ‘Accident […]

Review: Tracer by Rob Boffard

Posted July 23, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Tracer by Rob Boffard

I received this book for free from Netgalley / the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Tracer by Rob Boffard Series: Tracer #1 Published by: Orbit on 2nd July 2015 Genres: Fiction; Science Fiction Pages: 432 Format: E-arc / paperback Source: Netgalley / the publisher Rating: ***** About: IN SPACE EVERY. SECOND. COUNTS. Our planet is in ruins. Three hundred miles above its scarred surface orbits Outer Earth: a space station with a million souls on board. They are all that remain of the human race. Darnell is the head of the station’s biotech lab. He’s also a man with dark secrets. And he has ambitions for Outer Earth that no one will see coming. Prakesh is a scientist, and he has no idea what his boss Darnell is capable of. He’ll have to move fast if he doesn’t want to end up dead. And then there’s Riley. She’s a tracer – a courier. For her, speed is everything. But with her latest cargo, she’s taken on more than she bargained for. A chilling conspiracy connects them all. The countdown has begun for Outer Earth – and for mankind. Review: So after seeing so many comparisons to The 100 TV series and Rinn Reads review, I […]

Review: Under Ground by S. L. Grey

Posted July 22, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Under Ground by S. L. Grey

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.   Under Ground by S. L. Grey Series: Standalone Published by: Macmillan on 16th July 2015 Genres: Fiction; Young Adult; Thriller Pages: 368 Format: E-arc Source: Netgalley Rating: *** About: THEY’RE TRAPPED FIFTY FEET DOWN . . . AND SOMEONE WANTS THEM SIX FEET UNDER The Sanctum is a luxurious, self-sustaining survival condominium situated underground in rural Maine. It’s a plush bolt-hole for the rich and paranoid – a place where they can wait out the apocalypse in style. When a devastating super-flu virus hits the States, several families race to reach The Sanctum. All have their own motivations for entering. All are hiding secrets. But when the door locks and someone dies, they realize the greatest threat to their survival may not be above ground – it may already be inside . . . Review: Having reflected on this book for a while I can no longer decide if I love this book or merely like it. When I finished the book it was definitely love, but now after mulling thing over, it is just like. Maybe I should have gone with my earlier instincts… […]