Month: April 2015

Review: The Girls Take on Manhattan by Nicola Doherty

Posted April 27, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: The Girls Take on Manhattan by Nicola Doherty

The Girls Take on Manhattan by Nicola Doherty Series: Girls on Tour Series #5 Published by: Headline on 26th March 2015 Genres: Chick-lit; Fiction; Romance; Short Story Pages: 69 Format: E-book Source: Own Rating: *** About: The fifth instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk’s I Heart… novels. Join Poppy, Lily, Maggie and Rachel as they jet to New York – and face a big secret in the Big Apple. When Lily invites the girls to attend a VIP event in Manhattan, they all jump at the chance. Poppy especially is thrilled to escape her impending 30th birthday with a weekend of Cosmos and red carpets. But none of them have any idea what Lily is really planning. Or how a single weekend can turn your life upside-down … With non-stop fun and flirty frolics, this is a girls’ weekend not to be missed. Girls on Tour is an irresistible series of interlinked stories about four ordinary girls who have extraordinary fun in faraway places. Expect the unexpected, the utterly hilarious and unforgettable, on this rollercoaster ride of love, laughs, surprises and sparks. You have a VIP pass to join each girl’s adventure, so pack your bags and buckle your seatbelts, because just […]

Review: Rachel does Rome by Nicola Doherty

Posted April 24, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Rachel does Rome by Nicola Doherty

Rachel does Rome by Nicola Doherty Series: Girls on Tour Series #4 Published by: Headline on 5th February 2015 Genres: Chick-lit; Fiction; Romance; Short Story Pages: 64 Format: E-book Source: Own Copy Rating: **** About: What do you do when your boyfriend of two months cancels Valentine’s Day? If you’re Rachel, you book a last-minute trip to Rome. Together with her friends Lily and Maggie, she’s planning a relaxing weekend of culture and cappuccinos to take her mind off men altogether. But when she bumps into a figure from her past, Rachel finds herself on a Roman Holiday that features Vespa rides, hot tubs and some very unexpected consequences … Girls on Tour is an irresistible series of interlinked stories about four friends, ordinary girls who have extraordinary fun in faraway places. Expect the unexpected, the utterly hilarious and unforgettable, on this rollercoaster ride of love, laughs, surprises and sparks. You have a VIP pass to join each girl’s adventure, so pack your bags and buckle your seatbelts, because just about anything is possible… Review: This isn’t as manic as the other three in this series. Instead there is a more gentle approach and Maggie and Lily (from Lily does LA and Maggie does Meribel) are also in this book. I’m not […]

Review: The Forever Watch by David B. Ramirez

Posted April 22, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: The Forever Watch by David B. Ramirez

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. The Forever Watch by David B. Ramirez  Series: Standalone Published by: Hodder & Stoughton on 1st May 2014 Genres: Dystopia; Mystery; Science Fiction Pages: 326 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Rating: *** About:  All that is left of humanity is on a thousand-year journey to a new planet aboard one ship, The Noah, which is also carrying a dangerous serial killer… As a City Planner on the Noah, Hana Dempsey is a gifted psychic, economist, hacker and bureaucrat and is considered “mission critical.” She is non-replaceable, important, essential, but after serving her mandatory Breeding Duty, the impregnation and birthing that all women are obligated to undergo, her life loses purpose as she privately mourns the child she will never be permitted to know. When Policeman Leonard Barrens enlists her and her hacking skills in the unofficial investigation of his mentor’s violent death, Dempsey finds herself increasingly captivated by both the case and Barrens himself. According to Information Security, the missing man has simply “Retired,” nothing unusual. Together they follow the trail left by the mutilated remains. Their investigation takes them through lost dataspaces and deep into the […]

Bookish Gossip: Taking a Blogging Pause

Posted April 20, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm / 1 Comment

It’s been two weeks since my last post on here. And I feel incredibly guilty but at the same time so relieved. I needed to have a break from blogging because the pressure of juggling everything became, quite suddenly far too much. I had a huge essay due in, exams creeping closer ever day (that is still FREAKING ME OUT!), and the voices in my head saying, REVISE. But having no new posts made me really uncomfortable. I have a back-log of posts that need writing but feel like I have no time. Therefore I have made a promise to myself. I’m going to write up those posts. They may be spread out though out the next few months. But don’t worry there will be posts. But I’m going to have a pause in blogging. For the next few months I am going to have a break from all things bloggish. (Actually, who am I kidding?! I need to do something to procrastinate!). But the pressure is off. So I was wondering has anyone else ever taking a break? Did it affect your Blog in anyway? Do you have any advice? Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to […]