Month: February 2015

Feature: Monthly Round-up! Feburary 2015

Feature: Monthly Round-up! Feburary 2015

Monthly feature, linking everything that has happened in the last month, posted on the last day of said month. This month was I had the shock of finding out that I only have one month (ONE MONTH!) left of formal teaching before exams. I hardly feel like I have even begun but yet I’m almost at the end. It is quite scary to think about it that way. And I left wondering were has the time gone. Also I would really appreciate having a time lord as a friend because I have mountains of stuff to remember and I’m quite certain that it is never going to happen. Also this has probably been the most boring month for me. I’ve been locked in the study attempting to… well study. And to keep up with work which is quite impossible. Ooh but one non-book recommendation I would make is if you get the change to see Calamity Jane go see it. It is fabulous – there are new songs and all the actors on stage play all the instruments! Very impressive. Currently reading: Reviews on the Blog: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Ruthkosiki Firefight by Brandon Sanderson  Maggie Does Meribel by Nicola Doherty Obsession […]

Review: The Winner's Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Posted February 27, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 3 Comments
Review: The Winner's Curse by Marie Rutkoski

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski Series: The Winner’s Trilogy #1  Published by: Bloomsbury Children’s on 10th April 2014 Genres: Dystopia; Fantasy; Historical Fiction; Romance; Science Fiction; Young Adult Pages: 369 Format: E-book Source: Own Rating: **** About: Kestrel lives the lavish lifestyle of a Valorian General’s only daughter, and such riches come at a cost for Valoria’s captives and for her. As the Herrani face death or slavery, Kestrel’s destiny is shaped by her father. He gives her two choices: join his army or get married. Desperate to realise her own future and knowing that it will invite scandal, she pays a small fortune for a handsome Herrani blacksmith at a slave auction. Arin not only plays Kestrel’s power games, he understands what she needs and soon she is torn between loyalty to her people and her feelings for him. But Arin is not all he seems and Kestrel will learn that the price she paid for him is much higher than she ever could have imagined. The first novel in a stunning new trilogy, The Winner’s Curse is a story of romance, rumours and rebellion, where dirty secrets and careless alliances can be deadly and everything is at stake. Review: I came into this story not really knowing what to expect. I wasn’t even sure […]

Review: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson

Posted February 25, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Firefight by Brandon Sanderson Series: The Reckoners Series #2 Published by: Gollancz on 6th January 2015 Genres: Fantasy; Fiction; Science Fiction; Young Adult Pages: 400 Format: Hardback Source: Publisher Rating: ***** About: They told David it was impossible–that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet, Steelheart–invincible, immortal, unconquerable–is dead. And he died by David’s hand. Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life more simple. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And there’s no one in Newcago who can give him the answers he needs. Babylon Restored, the old borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though. Ruled by the mysterious High Epic, Regalia, David is sure Babylon Restored will lead him to what he needs to find. And while entering another city oppressed by a High Epic despot is a gamble, David’s willing to risk it. Because killing Steelheart left a hole in David’s heart. A hole where his thirst for vengeance once lived. Somehow, he filled that hole with another Epic–Firefight. And he’s willing to go on a quest darker, and more dangerous even, than the fight against Steelheart […]

Review: Maggie Does Meribel by Nicola Doherty

Posted February 23, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Maggie Does Meribel by Nicola Doherty

I received this book for free from Netgalley/the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Maggie does Meribel by Nicola Doherty Series: Girls on Tour Series Published by: Headline on 4th December 2014 Genres: Chick-lit; Fiction; Romance; Short Story Pages: 96 Format: E-arc Source: Netgalley/the publisher Rating: ***** About: The third instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk’s I Heart… novels. Maggie can’t wait for her first ever skiing holiday. New Year’s Eve in the French Alps with her boyfriend Leo and two other couples: what could be more romantic? She’s picturing hot chocolate, romantic snowball fights and evenings snuggled together in front of the log fire. What she didn’t picture is near-death experiences on the mountains, falling out with Leo and sharing a chalet with the unbearable Jenny. When she meets Sylvain, a gorgeous ski instructor, the line between harmless flirting and full-on misbehaviour becomes … well, blurry. Will Maggie stay on the nursery slopes, or go seriously off-piste? Girls on Tour is an irresistible series of interlinked stories about four friends, ordinary girls who have extraordinary fun in faraway places. Expect the unexpected, the utterly hilarious and unforgettable, on this roller-coaster ride […]

Feature: Pastime Pleasures #27 – Things I want my Daughters to Know

Feature: Pastime Pleasures #27 – Things I want my Daughters to Know

Welcome to my  feature, Pastime Pleasures, posted every other Friday. Here I will look at books that have given me great pleasure in the past. These are books I can read over and over again. The only rule is that the book must have been published five or more years ago. Barbara’s daughters are devastated to lose their mum, but then Barbara has sent them letters. Will these letters give the girls comfort? Will their be able to come together as a family and mourn their mother properly? And finally will they be set free from their burden in order to live their lives free? Things I want My Daughters to Know  shows the different relationships a parent can have with their children as each has different personalities. It shows how together yet how far apart a family can be. How each can grieve in their own way.  It is about the bonds between siblings and families. This is a sweet, caring book, without being too over-emotional and draining. Although you may want a box of tissues nearby… “Could I have loved you better? maybe. If that’s true, then I’m sorry. Could I have loved you more? I don’t think it’s possible. ” Subscribe […]