Month: May 2016

Review: Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews

Posted May 27, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews Series: Timebomb Trilogy #2 Published by: Hodder on 19th May 2016 Genres: Fiction; Science Fiction Young Adult Pages: 336 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher  Rating: **** About: It began when three people from three different moments in history discovered that they could travel through time when they clasped hands. But the mysteries surrounding them have only deepened. There are risks to tampering with established events… timelines become snarled, histories become tangled… and one false move could destroy time itself! Jana, Kaz and Dora have escaped from their mysterious enemy, Quil, wounded and scared. Taking refuge in a place outside of time, they devise a plan to change the past, altering Quil’s life so that she never meets them. From the streets of Beirut in 2010 to the domed cities of Mars in 2155 and beyond, the three teenagers fight for their future, and that of all humanity, by trying to rewrite the history of the person who has sworn to destroy them. What could be more complicated – and important – than trying to save the world? […]

Review: Eden Gardens by Louise Brown

Posted May 25, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Eden Gardens by Louise Brown

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Eden Gardens by Louise Brown Series: Standalone Published by: Headline Review on 21st April 2016 Genres: Fiction; Historical Fiction Pages: 368 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher  Rating: *** About: Eden Gardens, Calcutta, the 1940s. In a ramshackle house, streets away from the grand colonial mansions of the British, live Maisy, her Mam and their ayah, Pushpa. Whiskey-fuelled and poverty-stricken, Mam entertains officers in the night – a disgrace to British India. All hopes are on beautiful Maisy to restore their good fortune. But Maisy’s more at home in the city’s forbidden alleyways, eating bazaar food and speaking Bengali with Pushpa, than dancing in glittering ballrooms with potential husbands. Then one day Maisy’s tutor falls ill. His son stands in. Poetic, handsome and ambitious for an independent India, Sunil Banerjee promises Maisy the world. So begins a love affair that will cast her future, for better and for worse. Just as the Second World War strikes and the empire begins to crumble… Review: Rather than reading like a story this felt more like a memoir of the time, told alternatively between two women, Maisy and Pushpa. […]

Review: How the Duke was Won by Lenora Bell

Review: How the Duke was Won by Lenora Bell

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. How the Duke was Won by Lenora Bell Series: The Disgraceful Dukes Published by: Piatkus on 26th May 2016 Genres:   Fiction; Historical Fiction; Historical Romance; Romance Pages: 370 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher  Rating: **** About: James, the scandalously uncivilized Duke of Harland, requires a bride with a spotless reputation for a strictly business arrangement. Lust is prohibited and love is out of the question. Four ladies. Three days. What could go wrong? She is not like the others . . . Charlene Beckett, the unacknowledged daughter of an earl and a courtesan, has just been offered a life-altering fortune to pose as her half-sister, Lady Dorothea, and win the duke’s proposal. All she must do is: * Be the perfect English rose (Ha!) * Breathe, smile, and curtsy in impossibly tight gowns (blast Lady Dorothea’s sylph-like figure) * Charm and seduce a wild duke (without appearing to try) * Keep said duke far, far from her heart (no matter how tempting) When secrets are revealed and passion overwhelms, James must decide if the last lady he should want is really everything […]

Blog Tour: Giveaway and Extract – Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews

Blog Tour: Giveaway and Extract – Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews

Today I am delighted to be part of the Blog Tour for Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews. I’m in the middle of this book because, frustratingly work is getting in the way! But this is a series that I am so excited to read. Below I have an extract from the first book in the series – Timebomb – which gives you an awesome taster of what this series is all about. And I have a link to a giveaway for a  chance to win one of five copies of Timebomb and Second Lives! Also please visit other blog stops along the tour for other great content. The Giveaway: Five copies of Timebomb and Second Lives to five lucky people when Scott’s new mailing list hits 100 subscribers. Sign up here The Extract: First Interlude ‘You are not a very good interrogator.’ The woman leaned back in her chair, a half-smile dancing on her lips. The interrogator, sitting across the table from her, said nothing. The woman studied him. About forty-five, she thought. Sagging chin, slight bulge at the waist, thinning hair. He wore a wedding ring, so somebody found him attractive. Or did once, anyway. His skin was pallid and grey, his teeth […]

Review: TimeBomb by Scott K. Andrews

Posted May 16, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: TimeBomb by Scott K. Andrews

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. TimeBomb by Scott K. Andrews Series: Timebomb Trilogy #1 Published by: Hodder on 18th June 2015 Genres: Fiction; Science Fiction Young Adult Pages: 336 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher  Rating: **** About: Perfect for fans of Alex Scarrow and Michael Grant, this is the first in an incredible new time travel trilogy by the author of The Afterblight Chronicles. New York City, 2141: Yojana Patel throws herself off a skyscraper, but never hits the ground. Cornwall, 1640: gentle young Dora Predennick, newly come to Sweetclover Hall to work, discovers a badly-burnt woman at the bottom of a flight of stairs. When she reaches out to comfort the dying woman, she’s flung through time. On a rainy night in present-day Cornwall: seventeen-year-old Kaz Cecka sneaks into the long-abandoned Sweetclover Hall, in search of a dry place to sleep. Instead he finds a frightened housemaid who believes Charles I is king and an angry girl who claims to come from the future. Thrust into the centre of a war that spans millennia, Dora, Kaz and Jana must learn to harness powers they barely understand […]