Month: August 2014

Feature: Monthly Round-up! August 2014

Feature: Monthly Round-up! August 2014

Monthly feature, linking everything that has happened in the last month, posted on the last day of said month. Ok so I have nothing very exciting to say about this month, just a lot of work and late nights. Hopefully it will all pay off! I find out late September/ early October so have a long wait… Actually, I lied about having something exciting to say about this month, while the majority of the month has been decidedly dull, kind of like the weather at the moment, I did have one exciting day trip. I finally, finally made it to the Harry Potter Studio ¬†Tours ūüôā All I can say is that it was bloody brilliant. Hopefully next month will be better, we’ll see… Currently reading: Reviews on the Blog: ¬†Rival¬†by Penelope Douglas ¬†Poppy does Paris¬†by Nicola Doherty If You Were Me¬†by Shelia O’Flanagan Her¬†by Harriet Lane A Place For Us – Part One¬†by Harriet Evans The Rain¬†by Virginia Bergin Boy21¬†by Matthew Quick ¬† Other Blog stuff: ¬†It’s a Bookish Life¬†– posted five quotes ¬†Pastime Pleasures¬†– explained why¬†The Famous Five – Treasure Island¬†and¬†Harry Potter and the Philospher’s Stone¬†are excellent books to while away the time. ¬†Explain why, after a few […]

Review: Rival by Penelope Douglas

Posted August 29, 2014 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Rival by Penelope Douglas

I received this book for free from¬†the publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Rival¬†by Penelope Douglas¬†Series:¬†Fall Away Series¬†Published by:¬† Piatkus on the 26th August 2014¬†Genres:¬†Fiction; New Adult; Romance¬†Pages: 368¬†Format:¬†E-arc¬†Source: Publisher/Netgallery¬†Rating: *** About:¬†Madoc and Fallon. Two estranged teenagers playing games that push the boundaries between love and war . . .¬† She’s back. For the three years she’s been away at boarding school, there was no word from her. Back when we lived in the same house, she used to cut me down during the day and then leave her door open for me at night. I was stupid then, but now I’m ready to beat her at her own game . . . From the New Adult sensation and internationally bestselling author of Bully and Until You Note: While part of a series, this can be read as a standalone novel. Review:¬†On Fallon’s return, both she and Madoc cannot help but fall back into old habits – spiteful comments in public as they pretend to not care – always maintaining the game, until night when they reveal who they are and want they want. […]

Bookish Gossip: Book Hangover

Bookish Gossip: Book Hangover

Last time I talked about¬†having Book Overload¬†and the difficulties after my exams that I had with deciding which books I wanted to read first. And the difficulty in picking a genre, after all I hadn’t read any books (besides Law books) for two months, it felt like a huge commitment. Like I was seeing my friends again after a long absence. But it has now been over two months and I have had a blissful time reading, but now I feel like I have over-indulged. It’s not that I don’t want to read – I do. I have a lot of books in my TBR pile that when I look at them get me really excited. It’s just too much effort to pick up a book. The very thought sends me in can’t be bothered mode. I definitely do not think that this is a reading slump. How can¬†it be when I become physically queasy at the thought of picking up a book. The sad fact is I know what book I want to read, it is sat on my bedside table – and when I think of it I get excited butterflies in my stomach, but go to pick […]

Review: Poppy Does Paris by Nicola Doherty

Posted August 27, 2014 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Poppy Does Paris by Nicola Doherty

I received this book for free from Netgalley/the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Poppy does Paris¬†by Nicola Doherty¬†Series:¬†Girls on Tour Series¬†Published by:¬†Headline on 17th July¬†2014¬†Genres: Chick-lit;¬†Fiction; Romance; Short Story¬†Pages:¬†65¬†Format:¬†E-arc¬†Source:¬†Netgalley/the publisher¬†Rating: **** About:¬†The first instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk’s I Heart… novels. Paris. City of love, city of romance. The last place you want to go to on a work trip when you’re in the middle of an epic dry spell. But that’s where Poppy is headed, along with her colleague Charlie, who’s shallow and annoying but very, very good-looking. During a white-wine-fuelled session with her friend Alice, Poppy concocts the perfect plan: work by day, and have some no-strings fun with Charlie by night. Of course, it might prove a little more complicated than that, but it’s nothing Poppy can’t handle – or is it? Girls on Tour is an irresistible series of interlinked stories about four friends, ordinary girls who have extraordinary fun in faraway places. Expect the unexpected, the utterly hilarious and unforgettable, on this rollercoaster ride of love, laughs, surprises […]