Month: March 2015

Feature: Monthly Round-up! March 2015

Feature: Monthly Round-up! March 2015

Monthly feature, linking everything that has happened in the last month, posted on the last day of said month. So formal teaching finished this week so revision is a go! So because exams are around the corner I probably will not be blogging so much. July is probably when everything gets back on track. I have a few posts up that I organised a while ago, but otherwise no new posts. Which I am a bit sad about but really I have to focus on exams. So this means that features I normally do, like Pastime Pleasures and Round-up will not occur, but I will probably do a big post in July. It also means that my plans for new features (which I am really excited about) are also on hold. I’m really excited to show them off! But Happy Easter everyone and if anyone reading this has exams in the coming months I wish you the very best of luck! Currently reading: Reviews on the Blog: Half Wild by Sally Green Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard Forty Things To Do Before You’re Forty by Alice Ross Forty Days Without Shadow by Olivier Truc The Winner’s Crime by Marie Ruthkosiki The Three by Sarah Lotz […]

Review: Half Wild by Sally Green

Posted March 27, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Half Wild by Sally Green

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Half Wild by Sally Green Series: The Half Bad Trilogy #2 Published by: Penguin on 26th March 2015 Genres: Fantasy; Fiction; Paranormal; Young Adult Pages: 400 Format: E-arc Source: Netgalley Rating: **** About: After finally meeting his elusive father, Marcus, and receiving the three gifts that confirm him as a full adult witch, Nathan is still on the run. He needs to find his friend Gabriel and rescue Annalise, now a prisoner of the powerful Black witch Mercury. Most of all he needs to learn how to control his Gift – a strange, wild new power that threatens to overwhelm him. Meanwhile, Soul O’Brien has seized control of the Council of White Witches and is expanding his war against Black witches into Europe. In response, an unprecedented alliance has formed between Black and White witches determined to resist him. Drawn into the rebellion by the enigmatic Black witch Van Dal, Nathan finds himself fighting alongside both old friends and old enemies. But can all the rebels be trusted, or is Nathan walking into a trap? Review: So Half Wild is finally here and I was so excited to get my eager […]

Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Posted March 25, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 3 Comments
Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard Series: Red Queen Trilogy Published by: Orion on 25th March 2015 Genres: Dystopia; Fantasy; Fiction; Romance; Science Fiction; Young Adult Pages: 320 Format: E-arc Source: Netgalley Rating: ***** About: A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of DIVERGENT and THE HUNGER GAMES. This is a world divided by blood – red or silver. The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change. That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power. Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime. But this is […]

Feature: Pastime Pleasures #29 – The Valley of Adventure

Feature: Pastime Pleasures #29 – The Valley of Adventure

Welcome to my  feature, Pastime Pleasures, posted every other Friday. Here I will look at books that have given me great pleasure in the past. These are books I can read over and over again. The only rule is that the book must have been published five or more years ago. Based on the fact that the spine of this book is the most damaged in this series I have had to conclude that it is my favourite book! And what is there not to love – four children on on their own having an adventure with a parrot – Kiki who is hilarious. I mean Diana, Philip, Jack and Lucy could survive a few days without adult supervision and in my child-brain it was perfectly reasonable that I could too. This was an inspiring and exciting book from my childhood, and one that I still read now if I want something comforting. I mean the children (because that is what they are) do clever and extremely brave things – the waterfall scene is hilarious! – they are resourceful and prepared. Also they somehow manage to end up in an unknown / unexplored valley that has some priceless treasure. And […]

Review: Forty Things To Do Before You're Forty by Alice Ross

Posted March 18, 2015 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Forty Things To Do Before You're Forty by Alice Ross

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Forty Things To Do Before You’re Forty by Alice Ross Series: Standalone Published by: Carina UK on 1st May 2014 Genres: Chick-lit; Fiction Format: E-arc Source: Netgalley Rating: *** About: The truth is that Annie Richards is just too busy to fall in love! Running a successful cake-making business, acting as caretaker to grand country house, Buttersley, and not to mention single-handedly raising her five-year-old daughter is more than enough to keep Annie’s (flour-dusted) hands full! So can someone please remind her why she agreed to train for a marathon as a ‘40 things to do before you’re 40’ pact with her same so-called best friend?! With every hour of day already taken up, the arrival of crime writer Jake O’Donnell at Buttersley shouldn’t really have any impact on Annie’s day-to-day life at all. There’s definitely no time in her carefully scheduled day for daydreaming about drop-dead gorgeous authors. Is there? But between whipping up batches of her signature limoncello cupcakes, Annie realises that Jake, and his twinkling dark eyes, can’t just be ticked off her mental to-do list as easily as she though. […]