Month: March 2020

Monthly Round-Up! May 2019 – March 2020

Posted March 31, 2020 by Charlotte in Monthly Round-up! / 0 Comments
Monthly Round-Up! May 2019 – March 2020

Monthly Round-up, linking everything that has happened in the last month, posted on the last day of said month. This Round-up May 2019 – March 2020. I’ve released that because I have not been really posting for the last year that I haven’t been doing a wrap up. What is the point when I’ve only done a couple of posts. However I do think that its nice to put everything in one place and keep archives updated. Currently reading:   Reviews:   Blog Tours: Day Trips:   Challenges: As per usual I’m participating in the Goodreads Challenge. So what do you think of my round up May 2019 – March 2020? What have you read this month? Let me know in the comments below!   Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Join 910 other subscribers Email Address Subscribe

Review: Just My Type by Hannah Doyle

Posted March 26, 2020 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Just My Type by Hannah Doyle

Just My Type by Hannah Doyle Published by Headline on April 18, 2019 Genres: Chick-lit, Fiction, Romance Pages: 352 Format: E-Book Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads ‘I am officially a fan-girl’ LUCY VINE The new bestselling novel from Hannah Doyle, author of the hit rom-com THE YEAR OF SAYING YES, perfect for fans of Love Island, Lucy Vine’s What Fresh Hell and Dolly Alderton’s Everything I Know About Love. Picked by Closer as a Must Read! He’s my type on paper . . . but IRL? Meet Jasmine: – The quirky/cool photographer to a superstar blogger – She’s going on a date with a SUPER hot guy on the London Eye tonight – Best friend Mila is her wifey for life – This millennial is #LivingHerBestLife But fast-forward a few hours, and the reality isn’t quite so picture perfect. Jasmine hates her stuck-up blogger boss. She can barely afford rent in her stupid London flat. Her best friend seems to have all her sh*t together. Oh, and that date she was so excited about? She got dumped. On the […]

Review: The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

Posted March 24, 2020 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh Series: The Beautiful #1 Published by Hodder & Stoughton on October 8, 2019 Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Historical, Young Adult Pages: 432 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with a sumptuous, sultry and romantic new series set in 19th century New Orleans where vampires hide in plain sight. In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant city from the music to the food to the soirées and—especially—to the danger. She soon becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as Le Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s […]

Day Trip: Escape Room at Clue HQ Birmingham in association with Elevator Pitch

Posted March 19, 2020 by Charlotte in Day Trips / 3 Comments
Day Trip: Escape Room at Clue HQ Birmingham in association with Elevator Pitch

At the end of February, I was lucky enough to win a set of tickets to go to an Escape Room at Clue HQ in Birmingham from HQ Publishers as part of their marketing campaign for the amazing thriller Elevator Pitch by Linwood Barclay. More particularly, the room in association was the Helevator Escape Room. Perhaps the most difficult room on offer… The Journey: The day started by getting a very early train… we were booked in for 10.45 and as the train takes about an hour we got the train at about 9am. But we managed to pass the time with tea, croissants and photo taking. We also tried to plan for the room, deciding the role each of us should play and who would take charge. However, this was all forgotten when we actually got into the room. Clue HQ  was then about a fifteen minute walk from New Street Station. Once we walked there, however, we found that it was only on minute from Snow Hill Station. Once we were through the door to Clue HQ, the […]

Review: Crossfire by Malorie Blackman

Posted March 17, 2020 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Crossfire by Malorie Blackman

Crossfire by Malorie Blackman Published by Penguin on August 8, 2019 Genres: Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 496 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads ‘The Noughts & Crosses series are still my favourite books of all time and showed me just how amazing story-telling could be’ STORMZY ‘I grew up reading her. It was one of the few books about black people, so I felt seen.’ CANDICE CARTY-WILLIAMS ‘The most original book I’ve ever read’ BENJAMIN ZEPHANIAH “Malorie Blackman is absolutely amazing … [Noughts & Crosses] really spoke to me, especially as a woman of dual heritage.” ZAWE ASHTON_____ Years have passed since the love between Sephy – a Cross – and Callum – a Nought – destroyed their world and changed their families and society forever. Society appears to be very different now. For the first time ever, a Nought Prime Minister – Tobey Durbridge – is in power. Race and class don’t divide people anymore. But things are never really that easy. Because Tobey’s just been framed for murder, and the only way to free himself is […]