Month: August 2017

Blog Tour / Guest Post: ‘How I’m Learning to Manage My Energy for Writing and My Time’ by Emily Elgar, Author of If You Knew Her

Posted August 28, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Guest Post / 0 Comments

Guys today’s guest post is from the lovely Emily Elgar, author of If You Knew Her. Below Emily explains all about her mantra ‘manage my energy not my time.’ Do you have any good mantras that help you? Emily’s words: Before I started writing, I had jobs with pretty ‘normal’ hours. I’d be in work at 9.30am and leave at 5.30pm there’d be a bit of over time or a few late nights here and there, but that time would carefully be recorded and taken in lieu. It made for a relatively steady time. It also complimented the protestant work ethic – a good days grind being seven or so hours sitting at a desk – largely drummed into me at school. At first, writing didn’t feel like work. My jaw didn’t ache from gritting my teeth, there was no smoke puffing out of my ears. I was so overjoyed that writing was now my work I couldn’t understand where the ‘tortured artist’ sterotype came from. Then after a few months, like any relationship, the honeymoon period started to fade. Writing started leaving socks on the floor and stopped laughing at my jokes. I started to become really frustrated sitting at my […]

Through the Letterbox: Fairyloot Tricksters July 2017 Unboxing

Posted August 25, 2017 by Charlotte in Through the Letterbox / 0 Comments
Through the Letterbox: Fairyloot Tricksters July 2017 Unboxing

So I think that it is fair to say now that I am a huge fan of  FairyLoot. This is a monthly subscription ya book box based in the UK.   the box: In each box you can expect: One recently published Young Adult book, 4-6 goodies often related to the book, promotional items such as posters, bookmarks and a signed bookplate (whenever possible),  a unique hashtag that links you up with one other person receiving a box. The box is £26 plus shipping at £3.95 (if UK based) bringing it to a grand total of £29.95. I wish that the shipping is including in the price because it is like a hidden extra. But I do think that this box is well worth the price. So this theme was ‘Tricksters’ and is perfect for fans of Six of Crows, Harley Quinn, Harry Potter, Loki and Sherlock. Intriguing? I think so. the unboxing: Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody with signed bookplate and author letter – I thought that this sounded very Caraval like. But from talking to other people this is completely different to what I am expecting. So I am really excited to read this months book. Officially […]

Blog Tour / Guest Post: Inspiration behind The Honey Farm on the Hill by Jo Thomas

Posted August 23, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Guest Post / 0 Comments

Guys have any of you yet read The Honey Farm on the Hill? Or an book by Jo Thomas? If not I highly recommend that you getting cracking because Jo writes some divine books. And are perfect for a holiday read. Or if your not going away for a bit of sunshine. Below Jo shares some of her inspiration behind the book, particularly why she choose Crete and its famous Honey… The Inspiration: Writing a book for me is liking going into my kitchen pantry and seeing what ingredients I’ve got there and what I’m going to make for dinner. I’ll have a vague recipe in mind but no real idea of what to put in it. I start with the country I want to write about and the food of that country. I find that once you discover the food of a country, it takes you by the hand and introduces you to the history, the culture and the people of the place. In Ireland, it was oysters; Southern Italy it was olive oil and in South West France, wine. I knew I wanted to write about Greece and maybe one of the islands. I decided on Crete. I’d never been […]

Review: The Honey Farm on the Hill by Jo Thomas

Posted August 21, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: The Honey Farm on the Hill by Jo Thomas

You know when you have an auto go to author? Well Jo Thomas is one of those authors. There is something warm and fuzzy about all her books that makes them divine and utter perfection. This time round we end up in Crete. A place that has special meaning for Nell, who fell head over heels for the country and a special man. Years later she is back. As a WWOOFer (World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farm). A term/acronym that I have never heard of, but all the references had me laughing out loud. One thing I really loved was the descriptions of rural Crete. I could almost smell the sea and the wild herbs on the mountains. As well as picturing gorgeous landscapes. And with some lovable characters this was the perfect book to settle down with and read with a cocktail or two… This was an enjoyable and fun read. The attempts to lure the bees to the news hives had me in stitches and the romance left me with butterflies in m stomach. This was a warm, touching and beautiful read, one that I can easily read again and again.   Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your […]

Blog Tour: Q & A with Louise Welsh, author of No Dominion

Posted August 4, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour / 0 Comments

On the blog today I have the brilliant Louise Welsh with a Q&A. I reviewed her book a couple of days ago,The fast paced adventure in the final book of The Plague Times Trilogy was so hard to put down and was written be a brilliant author. Don’t believe me? Check out the answers below! Can you in five words describe your book to those who haven’t read it? Fast, jeopardy, thrill-ride, violent, love Was there anything in this book that took you by surprise? I was surprised how long it took me to write! I was six months late in completing No Dominion. The world around me kept on changing. Like most dystopian fictions this is a book with a strong connection to the time in which it was written, so it had to change too.  Do you have a favourite moment in the book? I enjoyed writing it all, but perhaps the final chapter is my favourite. It was satisfying to tie the trilogy together in the final pages of the last book.  Name the best book you have read in the last year, your favourite book and the book that is currently at the top of your TBR. I […]