Category: Reviews

Through the Letterbox: Fairyloot Memorable Moments March 2018 Unboxing

Posted May 10, 2018 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Through the Letterbox: Fairyloot Memorable Moments March 2018 Unboxing

So I think that it is fair to say now that I am a huge fan of  FairyLoot. This is a monthly subscription ya book box based in the UK.   the box: In each box you can expect: One recently published Young Adult book, 4-6 goodies often related to the book, promotional items such as posters, bookmarks and a signed bookplate (whenever possible),  a unique hashtag that links you up with one other person receiving a box. The box is £26 plus shipping at £3.95 (if UK based) bringing it to a grand total of £29.95. I wish that the shipping is including in the price because it is like a hidden extra. But I do think that this box is well worth the price. To celebrate the 2 year anniversary of FairyLoot, the March theme is ‘Memorable Moments’! This box celebrates memorable moments in some of our favourite books! Fairyloot said “There will be items that are perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Game of Thrones and Shadowhunters! We’re including some really unique items in this box, and one of them is something we have never ever included before!” the unboxing: The book was the State of Sorrow by […]

Blog Tour / Review: The Beast’s Heart by Leife Shallcross

Posted May 4, 2018 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 4 Comments
Blog Tour / Review: The Beast’s Heart by Leife Shallcross

This is a beautiful retelling of  Beauty and the Beast. A tale this is so familiar that I think I could tell the story myself. Yet The Beast’s Heart manages to be so captivating and so new that it will pull you in and make you turn each page with delight. So many retellings have been told from Belle’s point of view that it is so refreshing to have the story told from his point of view. To hear his thoughts and reactions. To see his inner turmoils and  struggles as he goes through each day. I just wanted to take the beast and give him a big hug. To let him know that he would be okay and that he would get through it all. This was a fab retelling that manages to avoid some of the problems of the original tale. I loved the origins of the curse for this tale. And Isabeau’s fathers health.  I loved that the story was simplified and the attitude each person has. Determined, thoughtful and kind. The tale feels like an entirely new story. This is a tale that will make your heart quicken and your imagination run wild as each page is beautifully […]

Blog Tour:: Mini Review and Extract of How (Not) to Date a Prince by Zoe May

Posted April 30, 2018 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 0 Comments
Blog Tour:: Mini Review and Extract of How (Not) to Date a Prince by Zoe May

Mini Review: So I picked this up because of the cute cover and the title which is so on point at the moment. At the moment I haven’t had time to fully read this but so far its super cute and enjoyable read. I haven’t go to as far as when Sam meets Fredrik but I am looking forward to finding out. So far all I know is that Sam wants to be taken seriously as a political journalist and that she has a huge aversion to anything wedding related. So when she is assigned to report on the up coming royal wedding she know that is is not a job that she wants to do. This feels so far like a fun, tongue in cheek read, that will have you giggling throughout. This is a fun heart-warming read that I cannot wait to dive back into! If you want to know more about this book or want to have a sneak peak then take a look below to find out what it is all about. Extract: Chapter One ‘What on earth is this?’ I thrust the news agenda onto my boss’ desk. Phil reluctantly tears his gaze away from […]

Blog Tour: Mini Review & Q&A with Stephen Lloyd Jones, author of The Silenced

Posted April 20, 2018 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Guest Post, Reviews / 0 Comments
Blog Tour: Mini Review  & Q&A with Stephen Lloyd Jones, author of The Silenced

Mini Review: So this is a super short review because I’m still reading The Silenced! I know its terrible and I should be more organised. But here’s what I think so far: I read Stephen first book The String Diaries  and I loved it – this author manages to mix fantasy with a fast-paced thriller. I am have only started this book but the pages are begging me to turn them and read late into the night.  Only having to go to work is stopping me. There have been a couple of moments when I have felt my heart racing and heart stopping at the same time. Some bits have been truly terrifying and made me want the light.  But here’s to five o’clock when its finally the weekend and I can crack on with fabulous book. And a full review will appear as soon as I can! Below is a little Q&A if you want to know more about the author.   Q&A:   Can you briefly tell us how you came up with the idea for The Silenced? Usually, with a book, the first scene arrives fully formed, along with a loose understanding of the ending. The writing itself becomes an […]

Review: Circe by Madeline Miller

Posted April 18, 2018 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Circe by Madeline Miller

I have been waiting for this book for long that it is actually ridiculous! I fell in love with Patroclus in The Song of Achilles and I have fallen in love with Circe here. If you are yet to read The Odyssey by Homer then I really recommend it. As a classics student it was one of the best books. I also do not feel that you can appreciate the story full without reading The Odyssey. In Circe there are so many parts missing, only so many tid-bits. This is truly Circe’s story and no one elses. While this inspired by The Odyssey, and while the story of Odysseus does take up the majority of the story-telling there are other myths and other stories woven into the telling. I loved how the all came together. And you get the sense of immortality of Circe and how time flows differently for the gods. I loved how Circe was used as the narrator. I feel ever story she is in she is undermined and seen only as a witch. Some one who hinders and never helps. She is looked down upon by the other gods and is mocked for her human voice. Yet she is a determined, naive and sassy […]