Month: December 2016

Review: The Fox And The Ghost King by Michael Morpurgo

Posted December 30, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: The Fox And The Ghost King by Michael Morpurgo

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. The Fox And The Ghost King by Michael Morpurgo Series: Standalone Published by: HarperCollins UK, Children’s on 22nd September 2016 Genres: Children’s; Fiction; Short Story Pages: 143 Format: E-arc Source: Netgalley Rating: **** About: A delightful tale of victory against all odds from master storyteller, Michael Morpurgo, lavishly illustrated by Michael Foreman. “Every fox in the whole town, in the whole country just about, is a football fan… And we all have an impossible dream.” In a cosy den under a garden shed lives a family of foxes. They love to watch football – all foxes do. But their favourite team keeps losing and losing, and it seems like things will never look up. That is, until Daddy Fox finds the ghost of a king, buried underneath a car park. A king who wishes only to be free. “Release me,” says the Ghost King, “and I can do anything. Just tell me your greatest wish.” For these football-loving foxes, might everything be about to change…? Review: This was a beautiful clever story that impeccably ties up two of the biggest stories of Leicester in 2016 – the […]

Review: Marry Me Tomorrow by Carla Burgess

Posted December 29, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Marry Me Tomorrow by Carla Burgess

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Marry Me Tomorrow by Carla Burgess Series: Standalone Published by: Carina UK on 3rd October 2016 Genres: Chick-Lit; Christmas; Fiction Pages:  Format: E-arc Source: Netgalley Rating: **** About: Emily needs a husband…fast. It’s just a few days until Christmas and to finally put a stop to her nagging mother’s matchmaking plans, Emily has convinced her that she’s already married! And when her excited mum announces that she’s coming to stay, Emily can think of only one man to play the part: gorgeous ex-soldier, Sam. It’s the best part of her day, handing him a coffee every morning – but then, Emily never expected to offer him her hand in marriage, too… All that’s left is for Sam to say ‘I do’ – it’s the perfect plan! So why then, do her ‘pretend’ feelings for Sam seem far too real? Fans of Debbie Johnson, Holly Martin and Christie Barlow will love this heartwarming read from debut author, Carla Burgess. Review: Straight-away I was intrigued by the idea – how was it going to work – a homeless man getting picked up and then pretending to be Emily’s […]

Merry Christmas!

Posted December 25, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm / 0 Comments
Merry Christmas!

Just wanted to say a Merry Christmas to all my readers. Thank you so much for following me and reading my blog over the last year. I appreciate each and ever one of you for all your support. So THANK YOU! I hope all your wishes come true and that you have a lovely day, whether or not you are celebrating, relaxing and seeing friends and family, and hanging out with loved ones. I hope you all have a wonderful day. Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year to all! Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Join 777 other subscribers Email Address

Movie Musical Challenge – West Side Story

Movie Musical Challenge – West Side Story

For this Movie Musical Challenge I’ve made a list of 15 musicals that I haven’t yet seen and probably ought to have. The challenge is throughout the year and once watched I’ll put my thoughts up on the blog.   So the thirteen movie for the challenge is West Side Story (1961), starring Natalie Wood, Richard Beymer, Russ Tamblyn, Rita Moreno, and George Chakiris. For once we have a musical with a serious undertone. Because despite the the pretty dancing and the high notes, this is a film about gang warfare, racial dispute and crime. ‘Tonight’, ‘America’ and ‘I Feel Pretty’ are my three favourite songs in this musical but I did enjoy listening to all the music. Each song shows of the talent and skills of the cast and story, while keeping the whimsical nature of a classic musical. This was an atmospheric and addictive watch. With its dazzling choreography and mesmerising scenes this is a musical that is unforgettable with every way. Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Join 777 other subscribers Email Address

Review: A Fairy Tale For Christmas by Chrissie Manby

Posted December 22, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: A Fairy Tale For Christmas by Chrissie Manby

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. A Fairy Tale For Christmas by Chrissie Manby Series: Standalone Published by: Hodder on 3rd November 2016 Genres: Chick-Lit; Christmas; Fiction;  Romance Pages: 432 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Rating: **** About: A wonderful, heartwarming and funny Christmas novel from Chrissie Manby, perfect for curling up with in front of the fire. What could be more magical at Christmas than a fairy tale come true? It’s the festive season and the members of the Newbay Theatre Society, more commonly known as the NEWTS, are preparing to put on a show. Being cast as Cinderella is the realization of a dream for newcomer Kirsty, not least because she hopes starring in a panto under the direction of her boyfriend Jon will bring them closer together. But Kirsty soon learns that it’s not all glitter and good cheer behind the scenes at the amateur theatre as bitter rivalries nurtured through decades, wardrobe mishaps and suspicious near-fatal accidents threaten to derail the production. And then there’s Prince Charming himself. Will working together with Jon bring Kirsty her happy ever after… or reveal their love to be nothing but a ‘showmance’? With Christmas […]