Month: May 2017

Monthly Round-Up! May 2017

Posted May 31, 2017 by Charlotte in Monthly Round-up! / 0 Comments
Monthly Round-Up! May 2017

Monthly feature, linking everything that has happened in the last month, posted on the last day of said month.  This Round Up May 2017. This month I started applying to LPC courses for September and I was so nervous. I had to do a covering letter. You would think it was easy, as I have had to apply before. But how do you know if you are good enough? Anyway I will (hopefully!) find out sometime next month whether I have gone in or not. Currently reading: Reviews: Blog Tours:   Through the Letterbox: Challenges: As per usual I’m participating in the Goodreads Challenge. For Movie Musical Challenge I didn’t manage to watch anything, but there is always next time! So what do you think of my round-up May 2017? What have you read this month? Let me know in the comments below! Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Email Address Subscribe Join 906 other subscribers

Blog Tour / Review: The Vets at Hope Green by Sheila Norton

Posted May 29, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 0 Comments
Blog Tour / Review: The Vets at Hope Green by Sheila Norton

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Vets at Hope Green by Sheila Norton Published by Ebury Press (Fiction) on June 1st 2017 Genres: Chick-lit, Fiction Pages: 336 Format: Arc Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Sam has always dreamed of working with animals… But her receptionist job in a London vets is not hitting the spot. Unsure whether a busy city life is for her, she flees to her Nana Peggy’s idyllic country village. But despite the rolling hills and its charming feel, life in Hope Green is far from peaceful. On first meeting Joe, the abrupt and bad-tempered local vet, Sam knows she must get him on side, but that is easier said than done… With her dream close enough to touch, will she get there, or will events conspire against her…? This is the first time in ages that I have read a book in one sitting, in one day. Yes it probably helped that […]

Through the LetterBox: FairyLoot Dreams & Wishes Unboxing

Posted May 19, 2017 by Charlotte in Through the Letterbox / 0 Comments
Through the LetterBox: FairyLoot Dreams & Wishes Unboxing

Welcome to Through the LetterBox. So I think that it is fair to say now that I am a huge fan of  FairyLoot and I loved the idea of Dreams & Wishes. This is a monthly subscription ya book box based in the UK. the box: In each box you can expect: One recently published Young Adult book, 4-6 goodies often related to the book, promotional items such as posters, bookmarks and a signed bookplate (whenever possible),  a unique hashtag that links you up with one other person receiving a box. The box is £26 plus shipping at £3.95 (if UK based) bringing it to a grand total of £29.95. I wish that the shipping is including in the price because it is like a hidden extra. But I do think that this box is well worth the price. I was super excited for this theme, because the theme ‘Dreams & Wishes’ was so vague but so tantalising especially when Fairy Loot said that this box was perfect for fans of A Court of Mist and Fury and The Bone Season.” the […]

Guest Post: ‘6 Secrets Behind Wishbones’ by author Virginia Macgregor of Wishbones

Posted May 17, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Guest Post / 0 Comments
Guest Post: ‘6 Secrets Behind Wishbones’ by author Virginia Macgregor of Wishbones

Today I am delighted to be part of the Blog Tour for Wishbones by Virginia Macgregor. Where Virginia will be talking about 6 Secrets behind Wishbones. Will you be able to guess them? This is a book, an author who has been on my to read list for ages. I’ve not yet been able to read this book but when I do I know it is going to be epic.  Don’t forget to visit other blog stops along the tour for other great content. Below Virginia shares some of the 6 secrets behind the creation of Wishbones. Six Secrets: A few years ago I went on holiday to Austria with my husband and we visited a farm with some baby goats. I fell in love with their gorgeous quirkiness and immediately wanted to take one home. Sadly, British Airways doesn’t allow for the transportation of pet goats, so I did the next best thing: I wrote one into a novel. Which is how Houdini, the mischievous goat, was born. A while back I read a really sad newspaper article about a woman who […]

Review: Catch Me if You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

Posted May 11, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Catch Me if You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

Catch Me if You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson Published by Sphere on May 4th 2017 Genres: Chick-lit, Fiction Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads WARNING: reading Catch Me If You Cannes may result in embarrassing outbursts of belly-aching laughter on public transport. Romantic, funny and full of Cannes Film Festival magic, it’s perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Paige Toon and Mhairi McFarlane. Jess has decided it’s time to get out of her comfort zone and live a little. So when her best friend Bryony, a journalist on a gossip magazine, is sent to cover the Cannes Film Festival, Jess decides to seize the day and go along for the ride. Two weeks of sun, glamour and exclusive entry into celeb-filled parties is just the kind of adventure Jess needs. Reality soon bites though when Jess and Bryony find they’re staying in a dingy hotel far away from all the action and Bryony’s expenses budget barely covers a glass of local wine. Undeterred, the two women are determined to live like the elite and enjoy one […]