Month: May 2017

Monthly Round-Up! May 2017

Posted May 31, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Monthly Round-Up! May 2017

Monthly feature, linking everything that has happened in the last month, posted on the last day of said month. Currently reading: Reviews: Blog Tours:   Through the Letterbox: Challenges: As per usual I’m participating in the Goodreads Challenge. For Movie Musical Challenge I watched: Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Join 211 other subscribers Email Address

Review The Vets at Hope Green by Sheila Norton

Posted May 29, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 0 Comments
Review The Vets at Hope Green by Sheila Norton

This is the first time in ages that I have read a book in one sitting, in one day. Yes it probably helped that while reading this book, I had a day off from work, and it was sunny. Also it was hot that all I could do was read. We learn early on that Sam is pregnant and she has some life changing decisions to make. On the spur of the moment she hands in her notice as receptionist at an inner city posh vets for a life in the country, living in her Nan’s spare bedroom. I loved Sam’s determination to follow her dreams and get to where she wants. She has ambition and strength. And despite her situation she refuses to give in. I loved how calm Sam was in situations and how she always sees the best in everyone – even her grumpy boss Joe. I also really loved the misunderstandings that happened throughout the book. They caused for some amusing situations and even more amusing conversations. There is poor David, always hopeful that Sam will fall for him and always getting himself into a bit of a mess in life. There is Joe who is […]

THROUGH THE LETTEBOX: FAIRYLOOT DREAMS & WISHES UNBOXING

Posted May 19, 2017 by Charlotte in Through the Letterbox / 0 Comments
THROUGH THE LETTEBOX: FAIRYLOOT DREAMS & WISHES UNBOXING

So I think that it is fair to say now that I am a huge fan of  FairyLoot. This is a monthly subscription ya book box based in the UK.   the box: In each box you can expect: One recently published Young Adult book, 4-6 goodies often related to the book, promotional items such as posters, bookmarks and a signed bookplate (whenever possible),  a unique hashtag that links you up with one other person receiving a box. The box is £26 plus shipping at £3.95 (if UK based) bringing it to a grand total of £29.95. I wish that the shipping is including in the price because it is like a hidden extra. But I do think that this box is well worth the price. I was super excited for this theme, because the theme ‘Dreams & Wishes’ was so vague but so tantalising especially when Fairy Loot said that this box was perfect for fans of A Court of Mist and Fury and The Bone Season.” the unboxing:  The Book – Given To The Sea by Mindy McGinnis, including signed bookplate and author letter. Exclusive FairyScoop with author interview and collectable bookmark – these bookmarks I’m really excited about because […]

Guest Post: 6 Secrets Behind Wishbones by author Virginia Macgregor of Wishbones

Posted May 17, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Guest Post / 0 Comments
Guest Post: 6 Secrets Behind Wishbones by author Virginia Macgregor of Wishbones

Today I am delighted to be part of the Blog Tour for Wishbones by Virginia Macgregor. This is a book, an author who has been on my to read list for ages. I’ve not yet been able to read this book but when I do I know it is going to be epic.  Don’t forget to visit other blog stops along the tour for other great content. Below Virginia shares some of the 6 secrets behind the creation of Wishbones. Six Secrets: A few years ago I went on holiday to Austria with my husband and we visited a farm with some baby goats. I fell in love with their gorgeous quirkiness and immediately wanted to take one home. Sadly, British Airways doesn’t allow for the transportation of pet goats, so I did the next best thing: I wrote one into a novel. Which is how Houdini, the mischievous goat, was born. A while back I read a really sad newspaper article about a woman who was so severely obese that, when she died, she had to be lifted out of her house through her bedroom window by a crane. It triggered an image for me of Feather’s mum and so beginning of […]

Review: Catch Me if You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

Posted May 11, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Catch Me if You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

I knew from the very first page, the very first line that I was in for a treat. A few pages in and I was in stitches. Honestly this book is hilarious. Every page throws something new and some amusing story. Jess was a lovable vibrant character whose sunny nature makes up for Bryony’s grumpy days. Both are in harmony with one another and both knows instantly what the other is feeling or need. Theirs is a true friendship, that you instantly warm to and connect with.  And Leo and Harvey was so cute. I love how a little white lie can build and build leading to some awkward situations, an expensive bill and the need to add another little white lie. After all if you’ve started how can you possibly stop? After all there is the beautiful sea views, sunny weather and a little bit of romance. This was a fun, hilarious read, that is perfect for whatever your mood. Like always, Lisa Dickenson delivers. And if I’m being honest I think this is the best one yet. If you are after a summery read then look no further. Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new […]