Month: June 2016

Review: Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick

Posted June 24, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick

I received this book for free from the publisher / Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick Series: Standalone Published by: Headline on 31th May 2016 Genres: Contemporary; Fiction; Young Adult Pages: 272 Format: Hardback / E-Arc Source: Publisher / Netgalley Rating: *** About: From Matthew Quick, bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook , comes a heartfelt, unconventional and moving novel for readers who love John Green and Annabel Pitcher. Nanette O’Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hard-working student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper – the mysterious, out-of-print cult-classic – the rebel within Nanette awakens. As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price. A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest. Review: So Matthew Quick is back on form. For me after […]

Monthly Round-up! May 2016

Posted June 22, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm / 0 Comments

Monthly feature, linking everything that has happened in the last month, posted on the last day of said month. (Bit late. But better late than never!) Currently reading:   Reviews: Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews  Eden Gardens by Louise Brown How the Duke was Won by Lenora Bell Timebomb by Scott K. Andrews Summer at Rose Island by Holly Martin Unrivalled by Alyson Noel Danger, Sweetheart by MaryJanice Davidson Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo Long Dark Dusk by JP Symthe Blog Tours: For the blog tour of Second Lives by Scott K. Andrews I hosted an extract and giveaway which gave an awesome introduction to the series. And if you haven’t yet read. Please check it out! For the blog tour of Danger, Sweetheart by MaryJanice Davidson I hosted review and extract of the book. Which gave a sneaky peek at the new book for old fans, and a great taster for newbies like me 🙂 For the blog tour of In Too Deep by Samantha Hayes I had a great guest post entitled ‘All in the Mind’ – The jobs that led to me becoming an author which was a fascinating insight into how Hayes became an author and what led her down this path. Which was a bit different from what I was expecting. Bookish Gossip: Apparently this month I […]

Review: You Had Me at Merlot by Lisa Dickenson

Posted June 17, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 3 Comments
Review: You Had Me at Merlot by Lisa Dickenson

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. You Had Me at Merlot by Lisa Dickenson Series: Standalone Published by: Sphere on 16th June 2016 Genres: Chick-lit; Fiction; Romance Pages: 368 Format: E-arc Source: Netgalley Rating: ***** About: Elle and Laurie are the last ones standing: they’re single, they’re not having babies any time soon and their weekends aren’t filled with joyful meetings about mortgages. For Elle, this is fine. She likes her independent life, but Laurie wants love and she wants it now. So when Laurie begs Elle to come with her on a singles holiday to a beautiful vineyard in Tuscany, Elle is reluctant. She has no intention of swapping her perfectly lovely life for someone else’s idea of her Mr Perfect, but ten days under the Italian sun with her best friend and lashings of wine? How bad could that be? Full of sultry summer nights, hilarious moments and plenty of adventure, You Had Me at Merlot will warm even the most cynical of hearts and have you believing in the magic of romance (and the power of a decent glass of wine). Review: You Had Me at Merlot  had me right from the […]

Review: Martini Henry by Sara Crowe

Posted June 15, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Martini Henry by Sara Crowe

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Martini Henry by Sara Crowe Series: Standalone Published by: Doubleday on 16th June 2016 Genres: Contemporary; Fiction; Young Adult Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher  Rating:  *** About: Life isn’t an exact science. Things can be troublesome. Like pregnant step-mothers, the ins-and-outs of French existentialism . . . having an unexceptional name. In 1988, seventeen-year-old Sue Bowl has a diary, big dreams and £4.73. What she wants most of all is to make it as a writer, as well as stop her decadent aunt Coral spending money she doesn’t have. Living in their crumbling ancestral home should provide plenty of inspiration, but between falling in love, hunting for missing heirlooms and internship applications, things keep getting in the way. So when a young literary professor moves in and catches Sue’s eye, life begins to take an unexpected turn . . . From the author of Campari for Breakfast, a witty and enchanting novel about what happens after you think you’ve grown up and fallen in love, perfect for fans of I Capture the Castle, Love, Ninaand Where’d You Go Bernadette. Review: This is a distinctive, […]

Giveaway & Review: All Together Now by Gill Hornby

Posted June 10, 2016 by Charlotte in Escapades of a Bookworm, Reviews / 1 Comment
Giveaway & Review: All Together Now by Gill Hornby

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. All Together Now by Gill Hornby Series: Standalone Published by: Abacus on 2nd June 2016 Genres: Contemporary; Fiction; Pages: 322 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher  Rating: **** About: The Bridgeford Community Choir is in crisis. Numbers are down. The choir leader is in hospital. The tea urn is behaving in an ominous fashion. Something must be done. New joiners Tracey Leckford and Bennett Parker might just be able to save the day. But Tracey is hiding a huge secret about her past. And Bennett – while equipped with a beautiful singing voice – is entirely baffled by the world and everything in it. Can they really fit in with dependable old regulars like Annie? As the choir suffers through fights, feuds and the perils of the school fair, it becomes clear that their struggles are not just about music, but the future of their community. In order to save their singing group and their town, the Bridgeford Singers will have to find a way to work together – in harmony. Review: This was the frist time I ever picked up a book by […]