Month: December 2014

Monthly Round-up! December 2014

Posted December 31, 2014 by Charlotte in Monthly Round-up! / 2 Comments
Monthly Round-up! December 2014

Monthly Round-up, linking everything that has happened in the last month, posted on the last day of said month. This Round-up December 2014. I hope you all had a good Christmas and that Santa brought you everything you wanted :). I had a house full with my family bringing their dogs, chickens and a horse! Yes you did read that correctly. It is strange to think that tomorrow will be another year. I hope you all have your new year resolutions ­čśë Bookish or otherwise. With a new year means that I will have to remember writing 2015 instead of 2014, something that normally takes until the middle of the year. With a new year there is new goals and aspirations to achieve. Luckily this year I achieved my Goodreads goal of 110 books and managed to read 112 overall. This year I’m going to set the goal low at 50 books. I’m about to hit exam period and so I don’t want the pressure of goals to distract me. This year I may be quieter on the blog, at […]

Pastime Pleasures #23 – Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier

Posted December 26, 2014 by Charlotte in Pastime Pleasures / 0 Comments
Pastime Pleasures #23 – Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier

Welcome to my ┬áfeature, Pastime Pleasures, posted every other Friday. Today is the turn of┬áJamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier. Here I will look at books that have given me great pleasure in the past. These are books I can read over and over again. The only rule is that the book must have been published five or more years ago. Mary Yellen arrives at Jamaica Inn to live with her Aunt and Uncle who have many secrets.┬áJamaica Inn is decrepit, with┬áno guests, set in the wild and treacherous moors. There are smugglers, a horse thief, an albino vicar and a murder to solve. This book may start off slow but as the tension and suspense slowly builds up, more and more secrets are revealed. The tension and sense of foreboding are emphasized through Du Maurier’s use of the landscape surrounding Jamaica Inn. Mary may not be sure of what is happening at the beginning but soon her innocence is swept away as she gets more sucked into life at the Inn and the ramifications living there has. ÔÇťBecause I […]

Review: A Christmas Feast and Other Stories by Katie Fforde

Posted December 19, 2014 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: A Christmas Feast and Other Stories by Katie Fforde

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.A Christmas Feast And Other Stories by Katie Fforde Published by Cornerstone Digital on December 4, 2014 Genres: Chick-lit, Christmas, Fiction, Short Stories Pages: 240 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads A delicious Christmas feast of short stories from the Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author of A French Affair and The Perfect Match. Add some extra sparkle to your Christmas by joining Katie Fforde for a perfect, romantic Christmas feast of short stories. Collected together for the first time and including one brand new story. Make your Christmas wishes come true… Includes an exclusive sneak preview of Katie’s new novel, A Vintage Wedding. Most of these stories in A Christmas Feast and Other Stories have previously been published. But the only one I have every read is The Undercover Cook. A Christmas Feast┬á is a feast without the gluttony, that feeling of being stuffed and unable to try more. […]

Review: A Season to Remember by Sheila O’Flanagan

Posted December 18, 2014 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: A Season to Remember by Sheila O’Flanagan

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.A Season to Remember by Sheila O’Flanagan Published by Headline Review on October 27, 2011 Genres: Chick-lit, Christmas, Fiction, Romance, Short Stories Pages: 372 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Sheila O’Flanagan’s deliciously engaging A SEASON TO REMEMBER is essential Christmas reading for fans of Marian Keyes, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans. Reviewers love Sheila’s novels: ‘A romantic and charming read’ Candis It’s Christmas – when everyone is meant to be merry. But what if you’ve just had your heart broken? Or discovered that the man you’re married to has lied to you? What if a secret from your past has come back to haunt you? Then the magic of Christmas is just what you need. As Claire and Neil Archer open the doors to their luxurious Sugar Loaf Lodge for the festive season, they and their guests are about to find out if Christmas really is the happiest time […]

Review: Day 21 by Kass Morgan

Posted December 17, 2014 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Day 21 by Kass Morgan

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Day 21 by Kass Morgan Series: The 100 #2 Published by Hodder Paperbacks on September 25, 2014 Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 311 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads In this pulse-pounding sequel to Kass Morgan’s The 100, secrets are revealed, beliefs are challenged, and relationships are tested. And the hundred will struggle to survive the only way they can – together. Now a major TV series on E4. In this pulse-pounding sequel to Kass Morgan’s The 100, secrets are revealed, beliefs are challenged, and relationships are tested. And the hundred will struggle to survive the only way they can – together. It’s been 21 days since The 100 landed on Earth. They’re the only humans to set foot on the planet in centuries… or so they thought. Facing an unknown enemy, Wells attempts to keep the group together. Clarke strikes out for Mount Weather, […]