THROUGH THE LETTEBOX: FAIRYLOOT DREAMS & WISHES UNBOXING

Posted May 19, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
THROUGH THE LETTEBOX: FAIRYLOOT DREAMS & WISHES UNBOXING

So I think that it is fair to say now that I am a huge fan of  FairyLoot. This is a monthly subscription ya book box based in the UK.   the box: In each box you can expect: One recently published Young Adult book, 4-6 goodies often related to the book, promotional items such as posters, bookmarks and a signed bookplate (whenever possible),  a unique hashtag that links you up with one other person receiving a box. The box is £26 plus shipping at £3.95 (if UK based) bringing it to a grand total of £29.95. I wish that the shipping is including in the price because it is like a hidden extra. But I do think that this box is well worth the price. I was super excited for this theme, because the theme ‘Dreams & Wishes’ was so vague but so tantalising especially when Fairy Loot said that this box was perfect for fans of A Court of Mist and Fury and The Bone Season.” the unboxing:  The Book – Given To The Sea by Mindy McGinnis, including signed bookplate and author letter. Exclusive FairyScoop with author interview and collectable bookmark – these bookmarks I’m really excited about because […]

Guest Post: 6 Secrets Behind Wishbones by author Virginia Macgregor of Wishbones

Posted May 17, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Guest Post / 0 Comments
Guest Post: 6 Secrets Behind Wishbones by author Virginia Macgregor of Wishbones

Today I am delighted to be part of the Blog Tour for Wishbones by Virginia Macgregor. This is a book, an author who has been on my to read list for ages. I’ve not yet been able to read this book but when I do I know it is going to be epic.  Don’t forget to visit other blog stops along the tour for other great content. Below Virginia shares some of the 6 secrets behind the creation of Wishbones. Six Secrets: A few years ago I went on holiday to Austria with my husband and we visited a farm with some baby goats. I fell in love with their gorgeous quirkiness and immediately wanted to take one home. Sadly, British Airways doesn’t allow for the transportation of pet goats, so I did the next best thing: I wrote one into a novel. Which is how Houdini, the mischievous goat, was born. A while back I read a really sad newspaper article about a woman who was so severely obese that, when she died, she had to be lifted out of her house through her bedroom window by a crane. It triggered an image for me of Feather’s mum and so beginning of […]

Review: Catch Me if You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

Posted May 11, 2017 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Catch Me if You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

I knew from the very first page, the very first line that I was in for a treat. A few pages in and I was in stitches. Honestly this book is hilarious. Every page throws something new and some amusing story. Jess was a lovable vibrant character whose sunny nature makes up for Bryony’s grumpy days. Both are in harmony with one another and both knows instantly what the other is feeling or need. Theirs is a true friendship, that you instantly warm to and connect with.  And Leo and Harvey was so cute. I love how a little white lie can build and build leading to some awkward situations, an expensive bill and the need to add another little white lie. After all if you’ve started how can you possibly stop? After all there is the beautiful sea views, sunny weather and a little bit of romance. This was a fun, hilarious read, that is perfect for whatever your mood. Like always, Lisa Dickenson delivers. And if I’m being honest I think this is the best one yet. If you are after a summery read then look no further. Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new […]

Review; The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Posted May 5, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review; The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Wow. I don’t even know where to begin with this book. If I just said it was amazing and you all need to read it, would that suffice? No I didn’t think so. Here it goes. There has been a lot of hype  about this book and for once it is a book totally worth it. Over a week after I finished this book and it is still haunting me. Words to describe the brilliance of this book do not exist, but I will do my best. This is an important story for #BlackLivesMatter showing a supportive and community and family. Starr’s family is brilliant, lovable and supportive doing the best they can to raise their kids. And it was great to see that parents and children had mutual respect for one another. It was just so refreshing to see.  One thing I really did not like was the relationship between Chris and Starr. I just couldn’t see it. They had too many issues. And appeared to have no trust. I felt that their relationship was shoehorned into the book because Chris is white and Starr black. I felt that it was just there for convention. On so many levels The Hate U Give has an […]

Review: Night Shift by Charlaine Harris

Posted May 3, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Night Shift by Charlaine Harris

I am so disappointed that this is ending as a trilogy. Just as I felt that this series was just starting to get going, it ends. For me I felt like I was just beginning to know the characters, their stories and their lives before it all ended. Hopefully sometime in the future we will get another book. But moving on…. If you haven’t read the previous two books then do not panic and not read this. You could read this as a standalone as the previous two have different story arcs. The only thing that you will miss out on is getting to know the people of Midnight. I loved that we learnt so must more about  Lemuel and Quinn in this book. Before they had been mysterious characters, always in the background, and always essential to solving all of Midnight’s issues. The one thing that I really hated was the ritual at the very end of the book. Just so uncomfortable.  The feelings for this just made me want to put the book down. It was just so cringy and I really did not want to read that. If we could have changed that to something a bit more normal […]