Blog Tour / Review: One Small Thing by Erin Watts

Posted June 25, 2018 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 0 Comments

Okay, first off I want to say that I really loved this book. I was invested from the start and each page made me want to read more and more.   One thing that I wasn’t super keen on was the big reveal that happened early on and the implications it had for the rest of the book. Perhaps it’s a bit harsh of me but my rating would have been higher if it wasn’t for this little detail. Despite this is you’re after a swoonsome, cute high school read, then this is pretty perfect! Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Join 801 other subscribers Email Address

Monthly Round-Up! May 2018

Posted June 22, 2018 by Charlotte in Monthly Round-up! / 0 Comments

Monthly feature, linking everything that has happened in the last month, posted on the last day of said month. Currently reading: Reviews: Blog Tours: Bookish Gossip: Book vs. Film: Pastime Pleasures: Through the Letterbox: Challenges: As per usual I’m participating in the Goodreads Challenge.   Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Join 801 other subscribers Email Address

Blog Tour: Recipe and Review of One Summer in Italy by Sue Moorcroft

Posted May 23, 2018 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Guest Post, Reviews / 0 Comments
Blog Tour: Recipe and Review of One Summer in Italy by Sue Moorcroft

Recipe:   Levi’s Bruschetta 1 large crusty baguette 250g cherry tomatoes Half a small red onion 2 to 3 cloves of garlic Fresh basil Balsamic vinegar Extra virgin olive oil Salt and pepper   Coarsely chop the cherry tomatoes into around 1/8 size pieces, and finely chop the half red onion In a large bowl, add the onion and tomatoes and grate or crush the garlic over the top. Mix them all together, taking care not to break up the tomatoes too much. Drizzle olive oil and a couple of tablespoons of balsamic vinegar over the top. Season with salt and pepper Mix everything together and taste – add more seasoning or vinegar if necessary. Cover and refrigerate the mixture for at least an hour to allow the flavours to soak and blend together. Slice the baguette loaf diagonally into thick slices and lightly toast the slices until they are light brown on both sides. Serve the refrigerated mixture onto the toasted baguette while warm, and top with fresh basil leaves.   Review: Subscribe to Blog via Email Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Join 801 other subscribers Email […]

Through the Letterbox: Fairyloot Memorable Moments March 2018 Unboxing

Posted May 10, 2018 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Through the Letterbox: Fairyloot Memorable Moments March 2018 Unboxing

So I think that it is fair to say now that I am a huge fan of  FairyLoot. This is a monthly subscription ya book box based in the UK.   the box: In each box you can expect: One recently published Young Adult book, 4-6 goodies often related to the book, promotional items such as posters, bookmarks and a signed bookplate (whenever possible),  a unique hashtag that links you up with one other person receiving a box. The box is £26 plus shipping at £3.95 (if UK based) bringing it to a grand total of £29.95. I wish that the shipping is including in the price because it is like a hidden extra. But I do think that this box is well worth the price. To celebrate the 2 year anniversary of FairyLoot, the March theme is ‘Memorable Moments’! This box celebrates memorable moments in some of our favourite books! Fairyloot said “There will be items that are perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Game of Thrones and Shadowhunters! We’re including some really unique items in this box, and one of them is something we have never ever included before!” the unboxing: The book was the State of Sorrow by […]

Blog Tour / Review: The Beast’s Heart by Leife Shallcross

Posted May 4, 2018 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 4 Comments
Blog Tour / Review: The Beast’s Heart by Leife Shallcross

This is a beautiful retelling of  Beauty and the Beast. A tale this is so familiar that I think I could tell the story myself. Yet The Beast’s Heart manages to be so captivating and so new that it will pull you in and make you turn each page with delight. So many retellings have been told from Belle’s point of view that it is so refreshing to have the story told from his point of view. To hear his thoughts and reactions. To see his inner turmoils and  struggles as he goes through each day. I just wanted to take the beast and give him a big hug. To let him know that he would be okay and that he would get through it all. This was a fab retelling that manages to avoid some of the problems of the original tale. I loved the origins of the curse for this tale. And Isabeau’s fathers health.  I loved that the story was simplified and the attitude each person has. Determined, thoughtful and kind. The tale feels like an entirely new story. This is a tale that will make your heart quicken and your imagination run wild as each page is beautifully […]