Review: Martini Henry by Sara Crowe

Posted June 15, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

Martini Henry by Sara Crowe

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Martini Henry by Sara CroweMartini Henry by Sara Crowe
Published by Doubleday on June 16, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Life isn’t an exact science. Things can be troublesome. Like pregnant step-mothers, the ins-and-outs of French existentialism . . . having an unexceptional name.
In 1988, seventeen-year-old Sue Bowl has a diary, big dreams and £4.73. What she wants most of all is to make it as a writer, as well as stop her decadent aunt Coral spending money she doesn't have.
Living in their crumbling ancestral home should provide plenty of inspiration, but between falling in love, hunting for missing heirlooms and internship applications, things keep getting in the way.
So when a young literary professor moves in and catches Sue's eye, life begins to take an unexpected turn . . .
From the author of Campari for Breakfast, a witty and enchanting novel about what happens after you think you’ve grown up and fallen in love, perfect for fans of I Capture the Castle, Love, Nina and Where’d You Go Bernadette.

Martini Henry is a distinctive, quirky written novel told via the journal entries of Sue. An 18 year old with aspirations to become a writer and an advanced understanding of the English language. At times it had me running to the dictionary.

As well as the journal articles, we get extracts from the book ‘For the concern of the rich and the poor‘ that Sue is reading, a history of Sue’s house from the 19th century and some of her pensees, which are often short and funny.

This is a difficult book to get into. It is slow and detailed in description and some of the more technical aspects of writing were over my head. I loved the bits that focused on discovering the family history and it was those bits that made me fall in love with this book!

I enjoyed learning about Sue’s family history and seeing her grow up and change throughout the book. This is a great coming of age story, which a well-placed sense of family history.

A charming witty read, Martini Henry will give all those other coming of age books a run for its money

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.