Review: HEX by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

Posted April 29, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

HEX by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: HEX  by Thomas Olde HeuveltHex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
Published by Hodder & Stoughton on April 28, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Thriller
Pages: 384
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The incredible, horrifying thriller from Thomas Olde Heuvelt, the Hugo award-winning author of 'The Day The World Turned Upside Down', perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Nevill and Stephen King.
Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay until death. Whoever comes to stay, never leaves.
Welcome to Black Spring, the seemingly picturesque Hudson Valley town haunted by the Black Rock Witch, a seventeenth-century woman whose eyes and mouth are sewn shut. Blind and silenced, she walks the streets and enters homes at will. She stands next to children's beds for nights on end. So accustomed to her have the townsfolk become that they often forget she's there. Or what a threat she poses. Because if the stitches are ever cut open, the story goes, the whole town will die.
The curse must not be allowed to spread. The elders of Black Spring have used high-tech surveillance to quarantine the town. Frustrated with being kept in lockdown, the town's teenagers decide to break the strict regulations and go viral with the haunting. But, in so doing, they send the town spiraling into a dark nightmare.

HEX starts off so so well, it is creepy, and while we know what is going on it feels like there is something hidden, something more to come. And a witch that can enter your house at will is just creepy! I did love the fact that modern technology was used to monitor the witch and they have an app to track her whereabouts.

This started so well on the creep factor. The witch may be harmless but the fact that she is there and can appear and there is nothing that you can do is just wrong. There is no control on the situation. This was a book that genuinely disturbed me and I had to check before bed that there was no one in my room. 

I’m not really sure what to make of the ending. This is where everything became confusing and I’m not really sure what to make of it all. It is so messed up is perhaps the most simplest description. Everything escalates as the town panic and their sense of freedom is snatched away from them.

HEX is told mainly from the perspective of three of the towns’ residences, all who have their own opinion about what is really happening. And all who contribute to the events that occur.

An atmospheric and creepy read, this is one book that will get into your head. Feel free to check your rooms and bolt the door before you read, you never know who can enter at will…

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.