Genre: Horror

Review: The Last Days of Jack Sparks by Jason Arnopp

Posted August 4, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: The Last Days of Jack Sparks by Jason Arnopp

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Last Days of Jack Sparks by Jason Arnopp Published by Orbit on March 3, 2016 Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Mystery, Paranormal, Thriller Pages: 336 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Jack Sparks died while writing this book. It was no secret that journalist Jack Sparks had been researching the occult for his new book. No stranger to controversy, he’d already triggered a furious Twitter storm by mocking an exorcism he witnessed. Then there was that video: forty seconds of chilling footage that Jack repeatedly claimed was not of his making, yet was posted from his own YouTube account. Nobody knew what happened to Jack in the days that followed – until now. The Last Days of Jack Sparks is a dangerously addictive book, where the supernatural will scare you to death and Jack’s humour give you some light relief. This was an fun book for me but I couldn’t […]

Review: HEX by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

Posted April 29, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: HEX  by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt Published by Hodder & Stoughton on April 28, 2016 Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Thriller Pages: 384 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads The incredible, horrifying thriller from Thomas Olde Heuvelt, the Hugo award-winning author of ‘The Day The World Turned Upside Down’, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Nevill and Stephen King. Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay until death. Whoever comes to stay, never leaves. Welcome to Black Spring, the seemingly picturesque Hudson Valley town haunted by the Black Rock Witch, a seventeenth-century woman whose eyes and mouth are sewn shut. Blind and silenced, she walks the streets and enters homes at will. She stands next to children’s beds for nights on end. So accustomed to her have the townsfolk become that they often forget she’s there. Or what a threat she poses. Because if the stitches are ever cut open, […]

Review: Fellside by M. R. Carey

Posted April 7, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Fellside by M. R. Carey

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Fellside by M.R. Carey Published by Orbit on April 5, 2016 Genres: Fiction, Horror, Thriller Pages: 486 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads Fellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors. It’s not the kind of place you’d want to end up. But it’s where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life. It’s a place where even the walls whisper. And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess. Will she listen? So I picked Fellside up because I adored The Girl With All the Gifts, so to see M. C. Carey’s new book  was really exciting. And there was a little bit of jumping up and down. Unfortunately/fortunately (depending how you look at it) this is a completely different book in ever way. This doesn’t mean that it was a bad book, rather my expectations got in the way. This is a mystery book […]

Review: Day Four by Sarah Lotz

Posted February 2, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Day Four by Sarah Lotz

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Day Four by Sarah Lotz Series: The Three #2 Published by Hodder & Stoughton on May 21, 2015 Genres: Fiction, Horror, Science Fiction, Thriller Pages: 352 Format: Hardback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Four planes. Three survivors. One message. It seemed like the end of the world… but it wasn’t. This, however, just might be. The extraordinary, unforgettable sequel to The Three – perfect for fans of The Shining Girls, The Passage and Lost. Four days into a five day singles cruise on the Gulf of Mexico, the ageing ship Beautiful Dreamer stops dead in the water. With no electricity and no cellular signals, the passengers and crew have no way to call for help. But everyone is certain that rescue teams will come looking for them soon. All they have to do is wait. That is, until the toilets stop working and the food begins to run out. When the […]

Review: The Three by Sarah Lotz

Posted March 11, 2015 by Charlotte in Reviews / 3 Comments
Review: The Three by Sarah Lotz

I received this book for free from Netgalley, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Three by Sarah Lotz Series: The Three #1 Published by Hodder and Stoughton on May 22, 2014 Genres: Fiction, Horror, Mystery, Science Fiction, Thriller Pages: 492 Format: E-Arc, Paperback Source: Netgalley, Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Black Thursday. The day that will never be forgotten. The day that four passenger planes crash, at almost exactly the same moment, at four different points around the globe. There are only four survivors. Three are children, who emerge from the wreckage seemingly unhurt. But they are not unchanged. And the fourth is Pamela May Donald, who lives just long enough to record a voice message on her phone. A message that will change the world. The message is a warning. ‘Really wonderful’ Stephen King ‘You’ll come up gasping’ Lauren Beukes ‘The finest thriller I’ve read in years’ Sarah Pinborough The Three is a book where I struggled to engage with the characters, to feel […]