Review: The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Posted February 13, 2015 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore FitzgeraldThe Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Published by Orion on June 5, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 172
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. The second sensational novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, BACK TO BLACKBRICK, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

Throughout, The Apple Tart of Hope, there are themes about love and friendship, and the difficulty and sadness of separation, however brief. How sometimes a little misunderstanding  can make everything so much worse; how much we can be hurt when we think our feelings are not returned and how jealous we can become.

The chapters alternate the narration between Meg and Oliver, meaning we got to see how both really feel for each other. Both lost and confused teens who no longer no what their friendship means, nor what they really mean to one another. Their friendship seemed genuine and was really heart-warming.

The Apple Tart of Hope is a simple story line (perhaps a little too simple for me) that is filled with enjoyable moments and what it means to be a teenager and the life lessons that everybody needs to learn.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.