Review: The Lost Boys by Lilian Carmine

Posted May 21, 2014 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

The Lost Boys by Lilian Carmine

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Lost Boys by Lilian CarmineThe Lost Boys by Lilian Carmine
Series: The Lost Boys #1
Published by Ebury Press (Fiction) on October 24, 2013
Pages: 512
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Fate has brought them together. But will it also keep them apart? Having moved to a strange town, seventeen-year-old Joey Gray is feeling a little lost, until she meets a cute, mysterious boy near her new home.
But there’s a very good reason why Tristan Halloway is always to be found roaming in the local graveyard... Perfect for fans of Stephenie Meyer and Lauren Kate, The Lost Boys is a magical, romantic tale of girl meets ghost.

While it says in the blurb that The Lost Boys is ideal for Stephenie Meyer fans, do not let this put you off reading this book.  Yes there is forbidden love, just exchange a vampire for a ghost, and a girl who has lots of friends she willingly hangs out with and who can fight her own corner, but keep in the true first love thing and there you have it…

Also seeing as there is emphasis  that Tristan is a ghost and spends a lot of the time in the cemetery – the majority of the book is not in the cemetery, it is at the boarding school.

Joey appears to be an awkward, geeky teenager at the beginning who through Tristan and her friends at school blossoms and grows throughout the book due to her friends and relationship with Tristan. The bond that Joey had with Lost Boys meant that their friendship was about best friends and it was lovely to see how much they got on and how much they were good friends.

The main criticism for me was that I wasn’t sure what the book wanted to be as times the ghost story was covered and hidden by the romantic side. However this is an enjoyable read. It is an adventure story with a touch of magic and romance. But the main gist is about the bonds of friendship and love and doing anything you can to protect the people you care about.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.