Month: May 2015

Review: Day Shift by Charlaine Harris

Posted May 11, 2015 by Charlotte in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Day Shift by Charlaine Harris

I received this book for free from Netgalley, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Day Shift by Charlaine Harris Series: Midnight Texas #2 Published by Gollancz on May 7, 2015 Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal Pages: 320 Format: E-Arc, Hardback Source: Netgalley, Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads In Midnight Crossroad, Charlaine Harris “capture[d] the same magic as the world of Bon Temps, Louisiana, and [took] it to another level” (Houston Press). Now the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels returns to the one-traffic-light town you see only when you’re on the way to someplace else… There is no such thing as bad publicity, except in Midnight, Texas, where the residents like to keep to themselves. Even in a town full of secretive people, Olivia Charity is an enigma. She lives with the vampire Lemuel, but no one knows what she does; they only know that she’s beautiful and dangerous. Psychic Manfred Bernardo finds out just how dangerous when he goes […]

Blog Tour / Review: The Chateau on the Lake by Charlotte Betts

Posted May 8, 2015 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 0 Comments
Blog Tour / Review: The Chateau on the Lake by Charlotte Betts

I received this book for free from Netgalley, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Chateau on the Lake by Charlotte Betts Published by Piatkus on September 15, 2015 Genres: Fiction, Historical, Romance Pages: 400 Format: E-Arc, Paperback Source: Netgalley, Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads A compelling tale of romance and betrayal set during the danger of the French Revolution, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft. ‘Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying’ Katie Fforde on The Apothecary’s Daughter 1792. As a teacher at her parents’ Academy for Young Ladies in the heart of London, Madeleine Moreau has lived her life sheltered from the outside world. But on the night of a dazzling Masquerade, tragedy strikes and she is left alone in the world. Desperate to find the family she never knew, Madeleine impulsively travels to France in search of them. But with war around the corner, and fearing for Madeleine’s safety, the enigmatic Comte Etienne d’Aubery offers her protection at his […]

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Posted May 6, 2015 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1 Published by Bloomsbury Children’s on May 5, 2015 Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Retelling, Romance, Young Adult Pages: 419 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads Feyre is a huntress. She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price… Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feeling for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows. Feyre must […]