Blog Tour / Review: Summer on a Sunny Island by Sue Moorcroft

Posted May 4, 2020 by Charlotte in Blog Tour, Reviews / 3 Comments

Summer on a Sunny Island by Sue Moorcroft

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour / Review: Summer on a Sunny Island by Sue MoorcroftSummer on a Sunny Island by Sue Moorcroft
Published by Avon on April 30 2020
Genres: Chick-lit, Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 400
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The #1 bestseller is back with your perfect holiday read!
When Rosa Hammond splits up from her partner Marcus after his gambling problem becomes too much to handle, she decides to take up her mum Dora’s offer of a summer in Malta. Not one to sit back and watch her daughter be unhappy, Dora introduces Rosa to Zach, in the hope that sparks will fly under the summer sun. But Rosa’s determined not to be swayed by a handsome man – she’s in Malta to work and that needs to be her focus.

Zach, meanwhile, is a magnet for trouble and is dealing with a fair few problems of his own. Neither Rosa or Zach are ready for a romance – but does fate have other ideas? And after a summer in paradise, will Rosa ever want to leave?

A heartwarming, escapist book to lose yourself in this summer from bestselling author Sue Moorcroft, perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Cathy Bramley.

Given that the UK is currently in Lockdown, Summer on a Sunny Island felt like the perfect reprieve to everything and allowed escapism to happen. It also let me pretend that I was on holiday and escape to sunny Malta.

I have to be honest I struggled when I first started reading as we went straight into the story with what felt like no introduction. It felt hard to keep up and I had to read very fast to catch up. Once I was there though it was plain sailing. For me anyways.

As well as gorgeous Malta scenery there is also lots of family drama, as secrets are revealed, decisions made and futures are forged. Luccio in particular causes the majority of the drama for Zach and Rosa.

Dealing with their own problems and trust issues Zach and Rosa start of rocky but very quickly there is some sizzling chemistry. However, will they let Luccio, their family and even themselves stand in the way of what is obvious to everyone?

One thing that did bug me was the language surrounding the remortgage / issue with the house in the UK.  As someone who deals with conveyancing matters day in and day out, the term ‘consent’ felt very inappropriate. Although (maybe small spoiler!) I did like the bit where the Solicitor advised her to go to a financial advisor or estate agent. Because that would definitely have been my response!

Summer on a Sunny Island is that feel-good comfort read that you need right now. Sunny and bright, if you are missing that holiday vibe, this is the pick-me up that you might need.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 906 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Blog Tour / Review: Summer on a Sunny Island by Sue Moorcroft

  1. Thank you for your review. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed a little ‘book travel’. Just so I know, what term should I have used instead of ‘consent’? We would have used that term when I worked in a bank but I admit to that being a looooong time ago. Thanks for participating in the blog tour.

    • I need more book travel in my life at the moment!

      I’d actually have used the term ‘transfer’ to describe the transaction. I’d use consent when referring to a form that an occupier who is not on the mortgage has to sign. It’s funny how everyone has their own language for the same thing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.