Review: A Home in the Sun Sue Moorcroft

Posted March 5, 2023 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

A Home in the Sun by Sue Moorcroft

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: A Home in the Sun  Sue MoorcroftA Home in the Sun by Sue Moorcroft
Published by Avon on August 19, 2021
Genres: Fiction, Chick-lit, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 384
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A gorgeous summer read about new beginnings from the Sunday Times bestseller.
Home is where the heart is…but what if your heart is broken?
When Judith loses her partner, she loses her life in Malta too – including the beautiful view from her sun-warmed balcony of the sparkling blue waters of Sliema Creek.
Back in England, Judith finds a spare room in her sister’s house where she grew up – but with it comes a whole host of family dramas.
Nursing a broken heart, Judith knows she must find happiness again – and rebuild her life on her own terms. Could an island in the sun be the answer she is looking for?
A wonderfully escapist summer read, perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews.
**Previously published as Uphill All the Way**
‘I love all of Sue Moorcroft’s books!’ Katie Fforde
‘Effortlessly engaging!’ Heat
‘Must read!’ Daily Express

So when I saw the title A Home in the Sun, I immediately thought of this TV programs called A Place in the Sun. It reminded me of the idea of escapism, heat and somewhere that is not the UK.

I did not realise that this was Sue’s first book, a re-release of her debut book until after I read. And for me that explained some of the ‘issues’ I had with this book. For me the book felt slightly off-key and not quite in the same tone as some of her other books. And I couldn’t understand why. After doing some digging though it all makes sense.

That being said, A  Place in the Sun is not terrible. And for a debut righting is excellent. And one that I really enjoyed diving into and being given the opportunity of diving into life in Malta.

I enjoyed getting to know Judith and watching her grow throughout the book. Judith has to make some difficult decisions, yet she was determined to get through what life had thrown her and to be honest to be able to live her best life.  All she has to decide is where does her heart truly lie – England or Malta?

A Home in the Sun is the perfect armchair escapism for new and old fans.

 

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 909 other subscribers


Tags:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.