Review: Snowflakes Iced Cakes and Second Chances by Sue Watson

Posted December 29, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 2 Comments

Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances by Sue Watson

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Snowflakes Iced Cakes and Second Chances by Sue WatsonSnowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances by Sue Watson
Published by Bookouture on October 12th 2017
Genres: Chick-lit, Christmas, Fiction
Pages: 301
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Escape to Devon for blustery walks along the beach, hot chocolate with extra marshmallows and proof that miracles really do happen, especially at Christmas.

A year after she separated from her husband, Gianni, on Christmas Day, Chloe’s heart is still in pieces as she unpacks the decorations for her first ever festive holiday alone. That is, until the phone rings…

It seems Gianni’s new seaside restaurant is in trouble and Chloe must go to Appledore to save the business – and him. Equally famous for his experimental culinary extravaganzas and his explosive temper, Gianni has been really stirring up a sensation with the locals – and not in a good way!

As pans fly and the temperature in the kitchen rises, Chloe’s calming influence and magic touch might just get critics back on side in time to save the restaurant from sinking like a sad soufflé. But will it be enough to save their marriage?

Chloe came to Appledore in search of her Christmas sparkle, but when the snow clears, will she finally find the way back to her husband’s heart?

A laugh-out-loud festive treat that will give you the tingle of freshly-hung tinsel. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson.

What readers are saying about Sue Watson:
I can't express how satisfying and enjoyable I found every second of this wonderfully entertaining story.’ Rachel’s Random Reads, 5 stars

‘This is such a truly wonderful book. Thank you Sue Watson for creating such larger than life characters who never fail to give us hope whilst giving us an utterly enjoyable reading experience.’ By The Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

‘If you're looking for a 'getaway' read, you can never go wrong with Sue Watson! Another win!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘After having read and thoroughly enjoyed Ella's Ice Cream Summer recently, I just knew that I had to read the second instalment. Overall it was a truly great inspirational read, really makes you think about certain things. Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘This was a fantastic read, one that kept a huge smile on my face and had me laughing right the way through it… Overall this was a super summer read one I think a lot of people can relate too and be inspired by the character Dani.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Fun, summer feel-good book! Many funny, laugh out loud moments as well as some more sober ones. Great beach read!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 4 stars

‘This book came at the perfect time for me. It made me a little emotional, it made me smile, it made me laugh and if offered me the escape I needed. I'm looking forward to the second book in this series!’ Novel Deelights

I really enjoyed reading this book! This beautifully told story really explored families and their relationships in a feel-good way. A delicious book, a must read.

Like all Sue Watson books, Snowflakes Iced Cakes and Second Chances is a fun, beautiful and heart-warming book that manages to move you on every page. And like the others this is a delicious read that will captivate you and give you a warm fuzzy feeling.

Chloe isn’t really looking forward to Christmas. This is year she plans to spend it alone but when she ends up going to Appledore to work to open a new restaurant all her plans for Christmas change, and she has to deal with her ex-husband – something that shes really not looking forward to.

This is a story about Christmases past and present. Focusing on how Gianni and Chloe got together, how they fell apart and now what they truly want. Snowflakes Iced Cakes and Second Chances focuses on the cake, snow and giving loved ones another chance.

I have to admit that I felt sorry for Chloe, because Gianni has a fiery temper and seemed to flare up really easily. But there are so many things bubbling under the surface that it is clear that his temper is not the only issue they had. Will Gianni and Chloe able to sit in a room and be honest with one another? Will they be able to tell one another their fears? And their innermost thoughts?

Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances is about coming together, realising your errors and excepting sometimes while you blame other people, it can be yourself in the wrong. 

I loved the moments in the restaurant, the crazy things that Gianni said, the weird food (I am certain that I would never have ordered what was on the menu)  and that sense of hope.

Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances was a great book to read post-Christmas, because lets be honest Christmas is around the corner….

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Review: Snowflakes Iced Cakes and Second Chances by Sue Watson

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.