Review: The Good Neighbour by Beth Miller

Posted September 14, 2015 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

The Good Neighbour by Beth Miller

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Good Neighbour by Beth MillerThe Good Neighbour by Beth Miller
Published by Ebury Press (Fiction) on September 10, 2015
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 464
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Everyone has secrets. How far will you go to protect yours?
After living next to the neighbours from hell, Minette is overjoyed when Cath and her two children move in next door. Cath soon becomes her confidante, a kindred spirit, even her daughter’s babysitter.
But Cath keeps herself unusually guarded and is reluctant to speak of her past. And when Minette witnesses something unspeakable, she begins to question whether she really knows her new friend at all…
An addictive and gripping novel, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Daughter

So in The Good Neighbour it was impossible not to get into the character’s heads, Beth Miller did an absolutely fantastic job of getting into each persons head, and their thought-processes. It was impossible to not be sucked into their views and opinions. To know what they are doing and why they are doing it.

It made it hard to question everyone’s motives, to work out who was the bad guy and what the correct story was. And with the extra twists and turns and the secrets being revealed bit by tiny bit it was impossible to work out everything. 

Davey was my favourite character, I loved him and just wanted to give him a  big hug, it was always quite frustrating that his chapters were so short compared to Cath’s and Minette’s. This was made reading Cath and Minette’s chapters harder, because I didn’t particularly like them and therefore did not care for the consequences they brought upon themselves.

But despite all this I was drawn in, I wanted to know more… I needed to know more. I felt like I was part of their group, whispering secrets to one another, sharing sly thoughts and making snide comments.

There was a couple of things for me, that were not fully tied up – like why is everyone super loyal to Cath? And other things that may be slightly spoilery, so I won’t say (worst thing ever to say in a review, but I hate reading spoilers myself so with not tempt others!). I guess I just wanted slightly more closure. Just a teeny tiny little bit.

The Good Neighbour was addictive and compelling, in a sinister, kind of creepy way. It makes you wonder how well do we know our neighbours? And reinforces the message of being careful who to trust!

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.