Tag: Doubleday Children’s

Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Posted June 5, 2015 by Charlotte in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella on May 5, 2016 Genres: Chick-lit, Contemporary, Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 280 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads Audrey can’t leave the house. she can’t even take off her dark glasses inside the house. Then her brother’s friend Linus stumbles into her life. With his friendly, orange-slice smile and his funny notes, he starts to entice Audrey out again – well, Starbucks is a start. And with Linus at her side, Audrey feels like she can do the things she’d thought were too scary. Suddenly, finding her way back to the real world seems achievable. Seeing as I pretty much have all the books by Sophie Kinsella, I was quite excited to see Finding Audrey. As it is aimed at young adults so I thought it would be a little different from previous novels, that were starting to take on a samey effect. Luckily I was right! […]

Review: The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler

Posted April 3, 2014 by Charlotte in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler Published by Doubleday Childrens on April 10, 2014 Genres: Children’s, Fantasy, Fiction Pages: 336 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That–along with everything else–changed the day she met her first fairy When Alice’s father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon–an uncle she’s never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it’s hard to resist. Especially if […]

Review: Noble Conflict by Malorie Blackman

Posted February 23, 2014 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Noble Conflict by Malorie Blackman

Noble Conflict by Malorie Blackman Published by Doubleday Childrens on June 6th 2013 Genres: Fiction, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 357 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads Years after a violent war destroyed much of the world, Kaspar has grown up in a society based on peace and harmony. But beyond the city walls, a vicious band of rebels are plotting to tear this peace apart. It is up to the Guardians – an elite peacekeeping force – to protect the city, without ever resorting to the brutal methods of their enemy. When Kaspar joins the Guardians, he has a chance encounter with a rebel – a beautiful girl named Rhea. Haunted from that moment on by strange visions and memories – memories that could only belong to Rhea – he realises he hasn’t been told the truth about what the rebels really want, and what he’s really fighting for. Noble Conflict is set in a dystopia world. To learn about the origin of the Alliance through history extracts at the beginning of certain chapters. These extracts add touching […]