Review: Breaking Dead by Corrie Jackson

Posted April 22, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 1 Comment

Breaking Dead by Corrie Jackson

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Breaking Dead by Corrie JacksonBreaking Dead by Corrie Jackson
Published by twenty7 Books on September 8, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 360
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

For fans of Kimberley Chambers and The Cuckoo's Calling, this compelling crime novel uncovers the dark side of high fashion.
Sophie Kent is hanging on by a thread. Her tenacity and talent have seen her rise through the ranks of a tough newspaper industry. But her brother's suicide has thrown her career and personal life into chaos.
Whilst out on the job interviewing witnesses of a brutal child murder, Sophie befriends a beautiful but traumatised Russian model. When the girl's mutilated body turns up in an upmarket hotel on the eve of London Fashion Week, Sophie knows she could have saved her. Eaten away by guilt, she throws herself headfirst into the edgy, fast-paced world of fashion with one goal in mind: to catch the killer. Only then can she piece her grief-stricken self back together. As she chips away at the industry's glittery surface, she uncovers a toxic underworld rife with drugs, secrets, prostitution and blackmail.
The investigation propels Sophie from the glamour of the catwalk to London's darkest corners, towards a sinister past and a twenty-year-old murder case that could hold the key. Battling her demons and her wealthy, dysfunctional family along the way, Sophie pushes her personal problems to one side as she goes head to head with a crazed killer; a killer who is only just getting started...

When I started reading Breaking Dead I wasn’t really in the mood, I wanted a light fluffy book. Instead I read this. But what a good decision! I was hooked and managed to read over half the book before having to go to work. So yay!

This was a gripping read and it made me excited for the next one in the series. I really want to know more about Sophie because is a damaged character and there is so much more to know. And there are other mysteries that need solving…

I did think that the ending was a bit rushed, there was the big reveal and suddenly it was the end. But to make up for that little fact the ending is really good and completely unexpected. I just wish that we could have had a little more time to savour the results. And some of the bits that happened were quite graphic for me and made me really uncomfortable, which I don’t like to see in a book, but that is personal preference.

Overall Breaking Dead is a gripping and intriguing read. There was lots of twists and turns and I had to keep turning the page to find out what happened. Roll on the next story.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 906 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Review: Breaking Dead by Corrie Jackson

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.