Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Posted June 18, 2014 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. SmithThe Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith
Published by Headline on April 15, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 337
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

For fans of John Green, Stephanie Perkins and Sarah Ockler, THE GEOGRAPHY OF YOU AND ME is a story for anyone who's ever longed to meet someone special, for anyone who's searched for home and found it where they least expected it.
Owen lives in the basement. Lucy lives on the 24th floor. But when the power goes out in the midst of a New York heatwave, they find themselves together for the first time: stuck in a lift between the 10th and 11th floors. As they await help, they start talking...
The brief time they spend together leaves a mark. And as their lives take them to Edinburgh and San Francisco, to Prague and to Portland they can't shake the memory of the time they shared. Postcards cross the globe when they themselves can't, as Owen and Lucy experience the joy - and pain - of first love.
And as they make their separate journeys in search of home, they discover that sometimes it is a person rather than a place that anchors you most in the world.

Despite not being written in the first person, The Geography of You and Me manages convey the thoughts and opinions of the two protagonists – Owen and Lucy, and enables the reader to gain a connection with them. I really believed that Owen and Lucy had chemistry and their ‘banter’ made me smile, despite the distance between them the connection remains no matter where in the world they are or what is happening in their personal lives.

Alternating between Owen and Lucy allows the reader to see the similarities in their lives as both mature, travelling with their families and having moments of happiness, but it is never truly what they want. Questions arise over where home truly is and whether you can love someone who is half way across the world from you.

Despite the distance between them and the fact that they only spent one night together, this doesn’t prevent Lucy and Owen attempting to carve a relationship by communicating via postcards and email. The Geography of me and you is about first love and the journey you take in order to happy.

The Geography of You and Me is a book that should be at the top of your summer reading pile as it will leave you with a happy feeling and a smile on your face!

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.