Review: The Girl in the Photograph by Kate Riordan

Posted January 14, 2015 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

The Girl in the Photograph by Kate Riordan

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Girl in the Photograph by Kate RiordanThe Girl in the Photograph by Kate Riordan
Published by Penguin Books on January 15, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction
Pages: 448
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The Girl in the Photograph is a haunting and atmospheric novel that tells the tales of women in two different eras – the 1890’s and 1930’s – and how their lives seem to be entwined by fate. Kate Riordan’s novel is a beautifully dark and beguiling tale which will sweep you away. It will appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca.
In the summer of 1933, Alice Eveleigh has arrived at Fiercombe Manor in disgrace. The beautiful house becomes her sanctuary, a place to hide her shame from society in the care of the housekeeper, Mrs Jelphs. But the manor also becomes a place of suspicion, one of secrecy.
Something isn't right.
Someone is watching.
There are secrets that the manor house seems determined to keep. Tragedy haunts the empty rooms and foreboding hangs heavy in the stifling heat. Traces of the previous occupant, Elizabeth Stanton, are everywhere and soon Alice discovers Elizabeth's life eerily mirrors the path she herself is on.(

I couldn’t settle on how I feel about The Girl in the Photograph. My thoughts and opinions have blurred together and the passing of time hasn’t solved this issue.

To be honest I found this book to be incredibly sluggish and slow – kind of like the valley it was set in. Yes the writing was beautiful, the mystery intriguing and the story compelling. But somehow I had to read it in drips and drabs, almost like I couldn’t concentrate for very long, couldn’t settle.

I was more inclined in Elizabeth’s story, but I think that was the point. Alice was just a mouthpiece – the storyteller. It is through Alice that we really discover the secrets of the manor house, it is Alice’s discoveries that are the most telling.

 The Girl in the Photograph is an intriguing read, you will want to find out all about Elizabeth Stanton and the secrets that surround the manor house. Girl in the Photograph is a mystery with a hint of romance that will make you miss the summer time.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.