Review: A Winter Beneath the Stars by Jo Thomas

Posted December 6, 2018 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments

A Winter Beneath the Stars by Jo Thomas
Review: A Winter Beneath the Stars by Jo ThomasA Winter Beneath the Stars by Jo Thomas
Published by Headline Review on 29 November 2018
Genres: Chick-lit, Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 368
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

scape to snowy Sweden in the gorgeous new novel from the author of Late Summer in the Vineyard and Sunset Over the Cherry Orchard. Fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson will love this unforgettable winter story from Jo Thomas.

Halley has been running from her problems for years.

On a courier trip to Tallfors, deep in Swedish Lapland, everything is going to plan. Halley has her bag, with two precious wedding rings inside for delivery... until she doesn't.

The only way to save the wedding is to team up with mysterious reindeer herder Bjorn, the one person who can lead her across the snowy tundra to be reunited with her bag.

On a journey of a lifetime beneath the stars, with only the reindeer and a bad-tempered stranger for company beside the fire, Halley realises that she will need to confront her past heartaches in order to let the warmth of love in once more...

I have to be honest when I first started reading A Winter Beneath the Stars, I felt a little bit of trepidation. Just because of the silliness of it all. But by the end of page one I was swept away and that was it, I read will into the early hours of the morning. A sign of a cracking book.

There are some wondrous moments in this book as we see the relationship between Halley and Bjorn grow, surrounded by some fabulous wildlife and incredible moments.  There was also Lars who provided some light relief throughout.

This is Jo Thomas’s first wintery novel and it is clear that a lot of research has gone into this book – from the description of the reindeer to how the Sami herd, to everything else. This created a much more real and atmospheric read that pulled me in.

Both Halley and Bjorn are hiding secrets from each other. And while I did guess early on what those secrets were, there were still a couple of reveals that took me by surprise.

I really enjoyed reading A Winter Beneath the Stars, and I was so sad when it came the end. If fact I kept swiping at my kindle in the hope that an extra page or two would appear. I do hope that Jo comes back to this story as I could have kept reading forever!

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.