Publisher: Hot Key Books

Review: To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

Posted April 15, 2020 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo Published by Hot Key Books on March 6, 2018 Genres: Fairytale, Fantasy, Fiction, Retelling, Young Adult Pages: 358 Format: E-Arc, Paperback Source: Netgalley, Own Copy Buy on Amazon Goodreads I have a heart for every year I’ve been alive. There are seventeen hidden in the sand of my bedroom. Every so often, I claw through the shingle just to check they’re still there. Buried deep and bloody. Princess Lira is siren royalty and revered across the sea until she is cursed into humanity by the ruthless Sea Queen. Now Lira must deliver the heart of the infamous siren killer or remain a human forever. Prince Elian is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world and captain to a deadly crew of siren hunters. When he rescues a drowning woman from the ocean, she promises to help him destroy sirenkind for good. But he has no way of knowing whether he can trust her … I may have been a little slow on the uptake to read To Kill a Kingdom. But […]

Review: 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You by Vicki Grant

Posted December 1, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You by Vicki Grant

36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You by Vicki Grant Published by Hot Key Books on October 19th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, Young Adult Pages: 288 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads Two random strangers. Thirty-six questions to make them fall in love. Hildy and Paul each have their own reasons for taking part in the psychology study (in Paul’s case it is the $40, in Hildy’s the reasons are significantly more complex). The study poses the simple question: Can love be engineered between two random strangers? Hildy and Paul must ask each other 36 questions, ranging from “What is your most terrible memory?” to “When did you last sing to yourself?” By the time Hildy and Paul have made it to the end of the questionnaire, they’ve laughed and cried and lied and thrown things and run away and come back again. They’ve also each discovered the painful secret the other was trying so hard to hide. But have they fallen in love? 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You is a cute little read, […]

Review: Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly

Posted April 12, 2017 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly Series: Trouble #2 Published by Hot Key Books on December 1st 2016 Genres: Contemporary, Mystery, Romance, Young Adult Pages: 304 Format: Paperback Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads A whip-smart, screwball noir mystery—with snappy prose, wry humor, and breakneck dialogue—this sequel to Trouble Is a Friend of Mine is perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Sherlock, John Hughes, and Carl Hiassen. After a fall semester of fiascos: getting arrested, then kidnapped, then blown up in an explosion (all thanks to the weird but brilliant Philip Digby), Zoe Webster is looking forward to a quiet spring. Now that Digby has left town, she’s finally built a regular high school life for herself. She’s dating Miles, the alternate QB; she knows girls she considers friends; she’s learning to enjoy being normal and semi-popular. Which of course is when Digby comes back: He’s got a new lead on […]

Review: The Boy Book by E. Lockhart

Posted November 9, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: The Boy Book by  E. Lockhart

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Boy Book by E. Lockhart Series: Ruby Oliver #2 Published by Hot Key Books on July 14, 2016 Pages: 224 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads A Study of Boy Habits and Behaviours from me, Ruby Oliver From E. Lockhart, author of the best-seller We Were Liars, and the highly-acclaimed The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, comes this hilarious and heart-warming series. Here is how things stand at the beginning of newly-licensed driver Ruby Oliver’s junior year at Tate Prep: Kim: Not speaking. But far away in Tokyo.Cricket: Not speaking.Nora: Speaking–sort of. Chatted a couple times this summer when they bumped into each other outside of school–once shopping in the U District, and once in the Elliot Bay Bookstore. But she hadn’t called Ruby, or anything.Noel: Didn’t care what anyone thinks.Meghan: Didn’t have any other friends.Dr. Z: Speaking.And Jackson. The big one. Not speaking. But with a new job, […]

Review: The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart

Posted October 7, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: The Boyfriend List by  E. Lockhart

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart Series: Ruby Oliver #1 Published by Hot Key Books on July 14, 2016 Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, Young Adult Pages: 256 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads 5 Guys, 11 Shrink Appointments, 4 Ceramic Frogs and Me, Ruby Oliver From E. Lockhart, author of the best-seller We Were Liars, and the highly-acclaimed The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, comes this hilarious and heart-warming series. Ruby Oliver is fifteen and has a shrink. But before you make up your mind about her, you should know that she has had a pretty awful (and eventful) past ten days. She has: * lost her boyfriend* lost her best friend (Kim)* lost all her other friends (Nora, Cricket)* did something suspicious with a boy* did something advanced with a boy* had an argument with a boy* drank her first beer (someone handed it to her)* got caught by […]