Review: Poppy Does Paris by Nicola Doherty

Posted August 27, 2014 by Charlotte in Reviews / 3 Comments

Poppy Does Paris by Nicola Doherty

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Poppy Does Paris by Nicola DohertyPoppy Does Paris by Nicola Doherty
Published by Headline Review on January 15, 2015
Genres: Chick-lit, Fiction, Romance, Short Stories
Pages: 304
Format: E-Arc
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The first instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk's I Heart... novels.

Paris. City of love, city of romance. The last place you want to go to on a work trip when you're in the middle of an epic dry spell. But that's where Poppy is headed, along with her colleague Charlie, who's shallow and annoying but very, very good-looking. During a white-wine-fuelled session with her friend Alice, Poppy concocts the perfect plan: work by day, and have some no-strings fun with Charlie by night. Of course, it might prove a little more complicated than that, but it's nothing Poppy can't handle - or is it?

Girls on Tour is an irresistible series of interlinked stories about four friends, ordinary girls who have extraordinary fun in faraway places. Expect the unexpected, the utterly hilarious and unforgettable, on this rollercoaster ride of love, laughs, surprises and sparks. You have a VIP pass to join each girl's adventure, so pack your bags and buckle your seatbelts, because just about anything is possible...

Poppy Does Paris is a light and funny read from the beginning as Poppy attempts to write-up her internet dating profile. Poppy decides that the best way to improve her love life or at least to have some no-strings fun with her colleague Charlie. All the while, while attempting to woo an author for the publishing house. Paris may be the city of romance but is that what Poppy is looking for? Or will romance find her unexpectedly?

The Parisian setting is perfect, and made me lust for a quick holiday there myself. Also I could imagine, as it has happened many time, like Poppy, attempting to order food in French only to be spoken to in English. Poppy also has an unusual fashion sense but when I imagined it, it was cool and chic and somehow fitted Poppy’s ditzy style perfectly. It is these small things that make this novella really good and I was disappointed when it ended. Hopefully we will see more of Poppy? And luckily we have the next instalment of Girls on Tour coming soon!

This was a brilliant, feel-good read, that left me wanting more. It is fun, flirty, and full of romance and laughs, perfect for a sunny day.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 910 other subscribers


Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Review: Poppy Does Paris by Nicola Doherty

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.