Genre: Science Fiction

Review: Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

Posted April 20, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard Series: Red Queen #0.1, Red Queen #0.2 Published by HarperTeen on January 5, 2016 Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Novella, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 208 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads Two women on either side of the Silver and Red divide tell the stories no one else knows. Discover the truth of Norta’s bloody past in these two revealing prequels to #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestseller RED QUEEN. Queen Song Queen Coriane, first wife of King Tiberias, keeps a secret diary—how else can she ensure that no one at the palace will use her thoughts against her? Coriane recounts her heady courtship with the crown prince, the birth of a new prince, Cal, and the potentially deadly challenges that lie ahead for her in royal life. Steel Scars Captain Farley was raised to be strong, but being tasked with planting the seeds of […]

Review: Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

Posted March 25, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Flawed by Cecelia Ahern Series: Flawed #1 Published by HarperCollins Children’s Books on October 6, 2016 Genres: Dystopia, Fiction, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 402 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads The stunning YA debut from internationally bestselling author Cecelia Ahern. Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan. But then Celestine encounters a situation in which she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED. In this stunning novel, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society in which perfection is paramount and mistakes are punished. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything. So I spent the majority of reading Flawed feeling quite uncomfortable, with […]

Review: The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

Posted March 23, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski Series: The Winner’s Trilogy #3 Published by Bloomsbury Children’s on March 24, 2016 Genres: Dystopia, Fiction, Historical, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 484 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads Some kisses come at a price. War has begun. Arin is in the thick of it with untrustworthy new allies and the empire as his enemy. Though he has convinced himself that he no longer loves Kestrel, Arin hasn’t forgotten her, or how she became exactly the kind of person he has always despised. She cared more for the empire than she did for the lives of innocent people—and certainly more than she did for him. At least, that’s what he thinks. In the frozen north, Kestrel is a prisoner in a brutal work camp. As she searches desperately for a way to escape, she wishes Arin could know what she sacrificed for him. […]

Review: Dominion by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard

Posted March 2, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Dominion by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Dominion by John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard Series: The Chronicles of the Invaders #3 Published by Headline on February 25, 2016 Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 464 Format: E-Arc Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads DOMINION is the epic follow-up to CONQUEST and EMPIRE in the Chronicles of the Invaders series by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard. Fans of Pittacus Lore and Veronica Roth will be entranced. They have cheated death. Defied their people. Changed beyond recognition. Their love has survived the impossible. But now they must learn to trust again: the future of their worlds depends on it. Thank goodness that Dominion has finally come around. I’ve been eagerly waiting to see how everything will be resolved and how everyone doesn’t die. Because lets be honest, that is what matters, also I spent the majority of my time reading this, absolutely convinced that the situation could only end badly. Terrible of me […]

Review: Calamity by Brandon Sanderson

Posted February 19, 2016 by Charlotte in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Calamity by Brandon Sanderson

I received this book for free from Netgalley, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Calamity by Brandon Sanderson Series: Reckoners #3 Published by Gollancz on February 18, 2016 Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 432 Format: E-Arc, Hardback Source: Netgalley, Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads From the bestselling author of the Mistborn series and Words of Radiance comes Calamity, the final book in the New York Times bestselling Reckoners series. Embrace your epic destiny and there’s no turning back. Is there? After that cliffhanger of Firefight, and having a year to wait for Calamity, it was a bit of a struggle. But we made it through and now have the joy of reading another fabulous book. Because like the rest of Brandon Sanderson’s books I have read this is fabulous. It’s the type of book that is easy to imagine, one with a cinematic style and grace. But I have to admit that this is a book that I am struggling to review, mainly because I’m […]